Men & MasculinityGLBT/Queer StudiesSex & SexualityGender Identity & Transgender StudiesIs Queer Theory too Queer? A Discussion
This is the "Start My Research" page of the "Gender Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gender Studies   Tags: gender, sociology  

Resources for the study and research of Gender Studies topics.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014 URL: http://simmons.libguides.com/GenderStudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Start My Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

COOL INTERNET RESOURCES

  • Gender Inn
    Use this to locate books and essay collections pertaining to gender studies, feminist theory, pedagogy, sociology, history, & psychology.
  • VOS Gender & Sexuality Studies
    Voice of the Shuttle and is a resource for anyone doing research on Gender & Sexuality. The site is an index to encyclopedias, websites, teaching resources, journals and zines, and much more.

OTHER AWESOME GUIDES

 

CONTEXT & OVERVIEWS

Reference sources are ideal for getting background information on any topic, as well as for identifying important concepts, researchers, theorists, events, and issues associated with a topic.

Fifty Key Concepts in Gender Studies - Jane Pilcher and Imelda Whelehan
Call Number: via Credo Reference
ISBN: 9781849724241
Publication Date: 2004
This source provides short essays on important concepts within the field of Gender Studies.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - Jodi O'Brien
Call Number: REF HQ1115 .E54 2009
ISBN: 9781412909167
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia attempts to cover a broad range of topics relating to gender studies, including intersection of gender scholarship within the arts, economics, health, crime, gender identity, politics, religion, and sexuality.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Fedwa Malti-Douglas
Call Number: REF HQ16 .E52 2007
ISBN: 9780028659602
Publication Date: 2007
The articles in this four-volume work explore the interconnections and differences between the concepts "sex" and "gender." It is intended as a work of general reference and is suited to all audiences, from the novice to the expert.

Cover Art
Gender and Research - Sara Delamont and Paul Atkinson
Call Number: REF HQ1075 .G4618 2008
ISBN: 9781412945974
Publication Date: 2008
This 4 volume reference source contains scholarly essays, collected from academic journals, on gender studies, offering different perspectives on history, theory, research and feminism. Essays divided into several different topics: "Contexts and Theory"; "Gender Roles in Research"; "Feminist Methods"; "Men's Studies, Queer Theory and Polyvocality."

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures - Carol and Melvin Ember
Call Number: Via CREDO Reference
ISBN: 9780306477706
Publication Date: 2003
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Profile Image
Dawn Stahura
Contact Info
Your research is so gonna rock!
x2987
Reference Desk: Mon: 10a - 1p; and Fri: 10a - 12p or by appointment.
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip