In addition to the online reference resources included on this page, the library's collection also contains a large number of print reference books. Use 'Reference Universe' to discover which reference sources in our collection have information on every topic:
You Might Also Like...
- Last Updated Mar 24, 2014
81 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
Use this guide to learn more about the streaming videos in the Library's collection and how to use them, including terminology, technical requirements, platforms, packages and more.
631 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 18, 2014
Use this guide to help locate media in the library and on the web, including DVDs, CDs, streaming video and streaming audio.
395 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 11, 2014
249 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 9, 2014
769 views this year
How to Use This Guide
On each page of this guide you'll find web-based and print resources, plus tips on how to get the most out of them. Many resources and topics overlap, and when you see a resource on multiple pages that means it's a versatile title.
This Getting Started page offers resources for getting to know Library and Information Science topics and concepts.
New! The Library & Information Management Collection on Kanopy
The Simmons Library now provides access to a number of streaming videos on the topic of Library & Information Management on the Kanopy Platform.
Click the Kanopy logo to be taken to its main page, or search Kanopy's collection of streaming videos directly from the box on this page.
Getting to Know Your Topic
Are you looking for information about the context or history of your topic? Try the resources on this page for background and general information.
Databases on Your Topic
Library & Information Science
Use the dropdown arrow to choose an online resource to search for more in-depth information on your topic. This list includes resources with a wide variety of content, such as journal articles, topic overviews and definitions from encyclopedias and dictionaries and in-depth information from e-books.
Books: In-depth Information on Your Topic
Books are a great source of in-depth information on a topic. Use a simple keyword search to locate information on a particular topic. You can also look for specific books by title or for books by an individual author or browse the stacks by call number.
Recommended Web Resources
There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Library & Information Science as both a discipline and a practice. Hover your mouse over the links to find out what they contain. Have fun exploring!