ChinaJapanKoreaVietnam
This is the "Home" page of the "East Asian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Resources for studying East Asian languages, cultures and histories.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2013 URL: http://simmons.libguides.com/EastAsianStudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

You Might Also Like...

 

Chinese Word of the Day

Either scripts and active content are not permitted to run or Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.0 or greater is not installed.

Get Adobe Flash Player
 

Japanese Word of the Day

Either scripts and active content are not permitted to run or Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.0 or greater is not installed.

Get Adobe Flash Player
 

How to Use This Guide

Welcome to the Simmons Library guide to resources for the study of East Asian languages and culture.  Use the links in the table of contents or tabs at the top of the page to find country information, books, articles and more.

If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide, don't hesitate to contact the author of this guide or Ask a Librarian.

Good luck with your research!

Getting To Know Your Topic

Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias--provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area.
  • Literature Resource Center (now named Artemis Literary Sources)
    Literature Resource Center includes resources on literary topics, authors, and their works. Includes scholarly articles, topic overviews, book reviews, biographical essays as well as poems and short stories.
 

Databases on Your Topic

Arts & Humanities

Use the dropdown arrow to choose an online resource to search for more in-depth information on your topic. This list includes resources with a wide variety of content, such as journal articles, topic overviews and definitions from encyclopedias and dictionaries and in-depth information from e-books.

 

Books: In-depth Information on Your Topic

Books are a great source of in-depth information on a topic.  Use a simple keyword search to locate information on a particular topic.  You can also look for specific books by title or for books by an individual author or browse the stacks by call number.

 

The Geography of East Asia

Above is a geographical depiction of East Asia, in an orthographic projection (click the image for full details). See East Asia in Geographic Perspective, a comprehensive site from Columbia University, for more on the region's geography, environment and society.

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Image
Jennifer Ferguson
Contact Info
617.521.2777
jennifer.ferguson@simmons.edu
LIB115
Skype: jennifer.ferguson62
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip