This is the "Research" page of the "Mobile Research & Apps" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mobile Research & Apps  

Mobile sites and apps for students, faculty, and staff.
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2013 URL: http://simmons.libguides.com/mobileresearchapps Print Guide

Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding and Saving Sources

These apps help you search for sources and save your results.

Cover Art
Simmons Library mobile site
Visit the Simmons Library mobile site from any device to get started on research, check library hours, chat with a librarian, and more! Free.

Cover Art
JSTOR
JSTOR is a comprehensive database for scholarly articles about the humanities. This web app is accessible from any device running a browser. Free.

Cover Art
Scholar Droid
Lets users browse through search results returned by Google scholar, look up book results on Amazon, add/export/import bookmarks, view/save free PDF articles through Google Docs Viewer (no downloading necessary), and email search result links. Free.

Cover Art
Gale Resources - Android (Google)
After a simple, one-time log-in using your library's password, the mobile app will give you free, unlimited access to your school library's reputable, authoritative Gale online resources. Includes Reference Library, Education Reference Library, and Directory Library. Free.

Cover Art
Gale Resources - iOS (Mac)
Includes Reference Library, Education Reference Library, and Directory Library. Free.

Cover Art
EBSCO - Android (Google)
Choose which database to search, limit results to full text or peer reviewed, sort by relevance or date, retrieve full text results in HTML and/or PDF formats, save results for offline access, or email results. The 25 most recent searches are automatically saved. Free.

Cover Art
EBSCO - iOS (Mac)
Includes Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete, ERIC, LISTA, Medline, and PsycInfo. Free.

Cover Art
Wolfram Alpha
Wolfram Alpha takes simple searches and returns synthesized results based on a variety of sources, building a whole-picture answer with charts, etymology, and other specialized information not generated by typical searches. Wolfram Alpha is browser-based and has apps available for iOS, Android, KindleFire, and Nook. Regular app is $2.99. A wide range of special-subject apps are available for an additional $.99 each.

 

Storing and Citing Sources

These apps help you store your sources across devices and/or create citations for them.

Cover Art
Zotero
Zotero helps users collect, organize, share, and cite articles and other media. It's compatible with Mac, Windows, and Linux, and has browser add-ons for easy one-click storage of articles from online databases. Not strictly an app, it can be used on any device with an internet browser. Zotero files sync across all devices Zotero is installed on. Files can be tagged, organized into folders, and shared within groups of collaborators. Zotero also generates citations in a wide variety of formats. Free.

Cover Art
Mendeley Reference Manager (Lite)
Program for organizing and citing research with browser extentions and an iOS app. Generates citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word, OpenOffice, and LaTeX. Interoperable with EndNote, Papers, and Zotero. Users can highlight and take notes in PDFs. Docs sync across multiple devices and computers, and can be shared with collaborators. Free.

Cover Art
RefWorks Mobile
Mobile website for RefWorks. Allows users to including search their entire RefWorks databases, view references by folders, add and remove references from folders, create new folders, and add comments to Notes fields. Users can also efficiently import new references to their RefWorks account using the new SmartAdd feature. Free.

Cover Art
EasyBib - Android (Google)
Create accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations in seconds by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book with the EasyBib Android app. Build and manage your works cited. Once done, email your citations and export your citations to EasyBib.com's bibliography management service. Free.

Cover Art
EasyBib - iOS (Mac)
Create accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations in seconds by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book. Build and manage your works cited. Once done, email your citations and export your citations to EasyBib.com's bibliography management service. Free.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip