María Blanchard, 1916-18, Still Life with Red Lamp, oil on canvas, via Wikimedia Commons
Welcome to the Simmons Library guide to resources for ART 244. This guide was designed to help you with research for your timeline projects. Use the tabs at the top of the page or links in the table of contents for help formulating keyword search strategies and finding articles, books and more on 20th-century art.
If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide, don't hesitate to contact the author of this guide or Ask a Librarian.
Good luck with your research!
Getting To Know Your Topic
Background sources like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias provide contextual information and answer straight-forward questions. They include definitions, statistics and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.
Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier. Credo also includes the Bridgeman Art Library Archive, which is a good source of images.
Oxford Art Online provides simultaneous access to a wide range of authoritative online art resources, including reference works, specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
Recommended Web Resources
There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Art as well as collections of images. Hover your mouse over the links to find out what they contain. Have fun exploring!
Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer catalogs as well as articles on the history of Western art. The BHA file covers items from 1975-2007.