Academic Search UltimateWhy search here?
Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
What's included?
It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
Credo ReferenceWhy search here?
Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier.What's included?
Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.
Gale Literary SourcesWhy search here?
Gale Literary Sources brings together several literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in new ways.What's included?
Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Gale eBooks, and Contemporary Authors Online. Search it to find thousands of articles on literature as well as background information about authors, historical trends, critical theory, and much more.
Gale eBooksWhy search here?
Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area. What's included?
Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
JSTORWhy search here?
JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.What's included?
Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here?
MLA Bibliography includes two parts: MLA Bibliography and MLA Directory of Periodicals, which are both produced by the Modern Language Association. These sources focus on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism and dramatic arts, but also include other subjects.What's included?
MLA Bibliography provides citations for journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, dissertations, etc.
Project MUSEWhy search here?
Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.What's included?
Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
Bartleby.comIncludes the Oxford Book of English Verse, Yale Book of American Verse, reference works on quotation and usage as well as selected works of fiction.
Encyclopedia MythicaAward-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.
Johnson's Dictionary OnlineA work in progress, this site is attempting to create a digital and easily searchable version of the first edition of Samuel Johnson's Dictionary of the English Language, which was published in 1755 and, until the completion of the Oxford English Dictionary 173 years later, was viewed as the pre-eminent English dictionary.
Understanding Great WorksOriginal works with links to citations that reference specific parts of the work.
Oxford DictionariesOxford Dictionaries provides free access that allows users to: explore its current English dictionary and thesaurus; listen to audio pronunciations; browse the grammar hub; and much more.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Why search here?
The Oxford English Dictionary is the most authoritative dictionary of the English language. What's included?
In both the print and online versions, entries include a history of where a word was first published, alternate spellings, pronunciations and an etymological analysis.
Routledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyWhy search here?
This online version of the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is regarded as the definitive reference resource in the field and features 2,000 original entries from a team of over 1,300 of the world's most respected scholars and philosophers.What's included?
Covers a wide range of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy, with over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and links to other editorially reviewed websites.
Open Access Directory: Languages and LiteraturesIdentify electronic journals in the fields of Languages and Literatures that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost. This is not a searchable database.
Open Library of the HumanitiesThe Open Library of Humanities (OLH) publishes open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). All of its academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship they publish showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.
Romanticism and Victorianism on the NetRomanticism and Victorianism on the Net (RaVoN) is an International Refereed Electronic Journal devoted to British Nineteenth-Century Literature.
Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Literary HubLit Hub is a site readers can rely on for smart, engaged, entertaining writing about all things books. Each day—alongside original content and exclusive excerpts—Literary Hub is proud to showcase an editorial feature from one of its many partners from across the literary spectrum: publishers big and small, journals, bookstores, and non-profits.
Modern Language AssociationFounded in 1883 by teachers and scholars, the MLA promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
Ohio State Open Access InitiativeThe Ohio State University Press, per their Open Access initiative, has put approximately 60 titles online as PDFs. Most of these titles are out of print and are focused on literary criticism.
Literary Theory and Schools of CriticismFrom Purdue University, this resource will help you to begin the process of understanding literary theory and schools of criticism and how they are used in the academy.
