Skip to main content

Nursing: Link Google Scholar to the Library

Connect directly to a wide variety of resources to support your clinical and research needs.

Why Link Google Scholar to the Library?

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is an online search tool that you can use to find articles, books, theses, case law, etc.  When available, Google Scholar will link to the full-text version of the resource.

Learn more about Google Scholar here.

Why would I link Google Scholar to the Simmons Library?

Linking Google Scholar to the Simmons Library lets Google show you which full-text articles we have access to through the library's subscriptions.

Once you link them, Google Scholar will automatically check to see if Simmons has access to full-text articles. If we do, you'll be able to link to articles directly from Google Scholar.

Who will find this useful?

When you're on campus, Google Scholar will already recognize that you have access to Simmons articles.  You won't need to link anything -- you can just start searching!

If you search for articles off-campus, follow these steps to link Google Scholar to the Simmons Library.

How to link Google Scholar to the Simmons Library

1. Open Google Scholar.

2. Click on the three lines in the top left corner of the Google Scholar page, then choose Settings.

3. On the Scholar Settings page, click Library Links in the left sidebar.

4. Enter Simmons College into the search bar and click search.

5. If prompted, check Simmons College - Check Simmons Full Text.

(You may also see an option that says Simmons College - Cengage Gale Full Text.  You can leave this one unchecked).

6. Click Save at the bottom of the screen.

Screenshot of Google Scholar Library Links with Simmons College checked off

More Cool Things You Can Do with Google Scholar

Google Scholar also has some tools that can help with your research.  Below most references, you'll see several links:

Screenshot of a Google Scholar reference with Cited by and Cite links highlighted

Click on the Cited by... link to see other articles that have cited this one.  This can help you find additional articles on the same topic.

Click on the Cite button to get the full citation in five different citation styles (including APA).  You can also use this link to export references to EndNote or another citation manager.

How to Tell if Simmons Has the Full Text

The space to the right of the article description will tell you whether or not the article is available for free or through Simmons.

 

If You See a PDF or HTML Link

If you see a link to the right of the citation that says [PDF] or [HTML], the full-text article is likely available.  Click on the [PDF] or [HTML] link to open the article.  

Screenshot of Durbin reference on Google Scholar

If You See a Check Simmons Full-Text Link

If you see a link to the right of the citation that says Check Simmons Full-Text, we may have access to the full-text.  Click the link to find out.

Screenshot of Google Scholar with Check Simmons Full Text link

If you click on this link and see a Simmons page that says Access Options at the top, it means that the library does not have full-text access to that article.  

But you can still get the article!  Scroll down to the How to Get Articles that Simmons Doesn't Have box for more information about Interlibrary Loan.

If You See a Blank Space

If you don't see a link to the right of a citation, it means that the full-text article isn't available online or through the library's subscriptions.

Screenshot of Google Scholar reference with no full-text linkBut you can still get the article!  Scroll down to the How to Get Articles that Simmons Doesn't Have box for more information about Interlibrary Loan.

How to Get Articles that Simmons Doesn't Have

Access Options Page

If you click on a full text link and see the following Access Options page, it means that the library does not have full-text access to that article.  

Screenshot of Simmons Access Options page

But you can still get the article!  

Request via Interlibrary Loan

If Simmons doesn't have an article, we can borrow a copy for you from another library (you can also do this for books and other types of resources).

1. Log into your Interlibrary Loan account with your Simmons username and password.
2. If this is your first time using ILL, fill out the information needed to "register" (really this process just verifies that we have up-to-date information for you).
3. Under Submit New Request, click Article.
4. Fill out as much information as you can about the article, including all fields marked with an asterisk.
5. Click Submit.  Within a few business days, you'll get an email with instructions for accessing the article.