LibGuides: Psychology: GETTING STARTED

ZINES IN OUR COLLECTION

Cure Huntington's disease by Nyxia Grey
Call Number: Zines DIS .C87 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Zine discusses the author's father who had Huntington's Disease and the journey. Also discussed is the disease itself, the causes, the symptoms, and possible treatments.
Damaged Mentality, #2.5 by Synthia Nicole
Call Number: Zines HLM .D36 no.2.5 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Zine chronicles the struggles with recovery from three brain surgeries.
I Don't Know How To Help You by Jessie Duke
Call Number: Zines HLM .I36 2015
Publication Date: 2015
This zine includes essays and poems from various contributors on the subject of depression, either experienced firsthand or as a friend/partner to someone with depression.
No Better Than Apples, Issue Ten by Kate Larson
Call Number: Zines DIS .N63 no.10 2014
Publication Date: 2014
A per-zine about making sense of life in remission, getting comfortable with total uncertainty, trying to do as much as possible and remembering every little thing, ever. (a year pasted down on paper through caramel burns, a spider-man costume, staring at the moon, time spent thinking about her and him and her and her, and keeping calm by all means.)
This is My Secret Weapon by Sarah White
Call Number: Zines EDS .T45 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Zine deals with eating disorder and recovery (specifically bulimia), feminism, sexual consent, body politics, and relationships.

LIBRARY RESOURCES

Struggling with your topic? Need to know both sides of the issues before you make a decision? Points of View allows you to hear both sides of an issue with resources from academic journals, popular magazines, media, and more.

APA PsycINFO Why search here? PsycINFO is a comprehensive international database of psychology covering over 1,900 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. What's included? PsycINFO covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.
PubMed Why search here? PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.What's included? Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Also included are links to full-text articles available through the Simmons Library. Look for the Find Full-Text button on the upper right side of the screen to see if Simmons has it.
- This link opens in a new window
Medline Why search here? Created by the National Library of Medicine, Medline provides access to articles about biomedical, health, and biological topics. Medline includes "authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more." What's included? Approximately 5,000 of the world's leading biomedical journals are indexed in Medline.
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus Index Why search here? Keep track of what's happening in the research world. Across all research fields—science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities—Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.What's included? Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books.
APA PsycARTICLES Why search here? PsycARTICLES is a database produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups. What's included? Full-text, peer-reviewed articles on topics in psychology from APA-published journals, the Educational Publishing Foundation and more.
APA PsycTESTS Why search here? PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

Directory of Open Access Journals The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

APA PsycTESTS Why search here? PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

Buros Center for Testing You can search by test name or subject area.
Finding Psychological & Educational Testing Instruments Helpful resources on where to find tests and measures.

American Psychological Association APA was created to encourage development and application of psychological theory, promote research, and improve qualifications through ethics, conduct, and education. APA has several divisions for specialty ares of psychology and has several different levels of membership.
National Institute of Mental Health The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
Psych Web This site contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.

PRIMARY V. SECONDARY SOURCES

Primary sources are original materials/information in which other research is based. This includes original articles, clinical trials, clinical studies, randomized trials, empirical studies, quantitative studies and case reports.

Secondary sources are analyze, evaluate, interpret, and then summarize this findings/information. This includes systematic reviews and meta-analysis, article and journal reviews, synopses, and textbooks.

When searching in Medline, PubMed, or APA PsycINFO for primary sources, make sure you are looking at clinical trials, studies, or queries.

If you see the words, "Review Articles" or "EMB Reviews" or "Literature Review" you are looking at secondary sources.

For more information on literature reviews and/or how to create one, check out the resource below:

Liaison Librarian

Linda Schuller

Email Me

Contact:

COVID-19 Alert: Library Services have been modified and may continue to evolve with changing conditions. More Info.

E-111

617.521.2767