LibGuides: BOS 101: Speech Communities: Home

STRUGGLING WITH A TOPIC IDEA?

Struggling with your topic? Need to know both sides of the issues before you make a decision? Points of View allows you to hear both sides of an issue with resources from academic journals, popular magazines, media, and more.

Some Key Databases

Academic Search Ultimate Why search here? Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. What's included? It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
SocINDEX with Full Text Why search here? SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database.What's included? Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.
Scopus Index Why search here? Keep track of what's happening in the research world. Across all research fields—science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities—Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.What's included? Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books.
Kanopy Why search here? Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos across a wide variety of subject areas. Kanopy also provides access to classic Hollywood and foreign films from the Criterion Collection.What's included? Thousands of videos in the Humanities, Education, the Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications and more are available for the Library to license for courses. Faculty - to obtain a video for your class, submit a reserves request. Kanopy might load a page asking the user to either create a Kanopy account or “Skip” to start watching. Users should select the "Skip" button, and do not need to create their own account to view videos.
- This link opens in a new window

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

Need help creating your annotated bibliography?

HOW TO USE THIS GUIDE

Welcome to the Simmons Library guide to BOS 101: Text and Context. Use the links in the table of contents or the tabs at the top of the page to help you pick a topic, find articles on your topic, explore in-depth information in books and more.

If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide, don't hesitate to contact the author of this guide or Ask a Librarian.

Good luck with your research!

OTHER AWESOME GUIDES

Digital Storytelling
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Sep 26, 2022 45 views this year

Zines!
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Sep 26, 2022 305 views this year
Anti-Oppression
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Jan 9, 2023 5992 views this year
How to find Statistics and Demographics
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Nov 18, 2022 21 views this year
Newspaper Articles and Debates
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Jan 4, 2023 68 views this year