Skip to main content

COVID-19 Library Services: Resources

To share with the Simmons community the steps the library is taking to ensure access.

covid-19 library services

Free Resources from Vendors

Temporarily available

Ebooks

  • EBSCO Ebook Academic Collection
    • Over 200,000 academic ebooks in many disciplines from a variety of publishers. Available through June 15. Also available through Simmons University Library Search.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.
  • EBSCO Faculty Select
    • A search box for over 12,000 Open Educational Resources (OERs), such as online textbooks, that are always free. Also includes info on over 225,000 unlimited-use ebooks that are available for the Library to purchase. This search is available through June 30.
    • To see only free ebooks, limit your search to "OER Only." You can also find these ebooks through the Simmons University Library Search.
    • If you would like the Library to purchase an ebook, submit a purchase request.
  • Emerald Ebooks
    • A collection of over 2500 ebooks in a variety of disciplines. Available through May 9.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.
  • Internet Archive National Emergency Library
    • Over 1.4 million digitized books mostly from the 1920s-1990s. Available through June 30 or until the end of the U.S. national emergency, whichever is later. 
  • JSTOR
    • A number of publishers have made over 25,000 scholarly ebooks available through JSTOR. JSTOR has also made primary sources and additional journals available, in addition to the many journals the Library already has access to on JSTOR. Available through June 30.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Academic Complete
    • Over 150,000 academic ebooks in many disciplines from a variety of publishers. Available through May 15.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.
  • Project Muse
    • A number of scholarly publishers have made ebooks in the humanities and social sciences availble for free on Project Muse. Period of availability varies by publisher.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.
  • RedShelf Responds
    • A collection of textbooks from many different publishers. Student may borrow up to 7 ebooks. Registration required. Available through May 25.
  • Sage Knowledge
    • A collection of ebooks, including textbooks, cases, and reference works, in disciplines including Business, Communications, Leadership, Environmental Science, Nursing, Public Health, Social Sciences, and Social Work. Available through June 24.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.
  • VitalSource Bookshelf App
    • A collection of over 55,000 textbooks from many different publishers. Registration with .edu email address required. Available through May 25.
    • Log into VitalSource Bookshelf app using your school email address - find and view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf.
    • Based on VitalSource Helps

Streaming Videos

  • Films on Demand Master Collection
    • Over 30,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics. Available through April 30.
    • Username: distancelearning2
    • Password: trial
  • JoVE (Journal of Visual Experiments) Science Education Library
    • A collection of video demonstrations designed for undergraduate courses in natural sciences, psychology, and health sciences. Available through June 15.
    • Click on "Log In," then click on "Sign Up." Scroll down to create an account. A Simmons email address is required.
  • Kanopy - Free Videos
    • In addition to the videos that the Library subscribes to, Kanopy is offering free access to certain videos until April 12.
  • Kanopy - Great Courses
    • Kanopy is also offering free access to the Great Courses until April 12.
  • Sage Video
    • Educational videos in a number of disciplines, including Business, Communications, Leadership, Nursing, Social Sciences, and Social Work, as well as a collection on research methods. Available through June 24.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.

Databases and Journals

  • EBSCO Business Source Ultimate
    • Over 3000 business journals and magazines. Available through June 15. Also available through Simmons University Library Search.
    • Log in with your Simmons username and password.
  • Hein Online Academic
    • An extensive collection of documents, articles, and other resources related to law, political science, international relations, and history. Sign in with your Simmons username and password. Available through December 15.

Teaching, Learning, & Working Remotely

Resources from the Library

Always available

Free and Open Access Online Resources

Online Library Resources