LibGuides: NURS 387: Health Education & Infographics: Gather

Background

In addition to your Community Practice Notebook and actually walking through the neighborhood/community, these are a few online tools that can enhance your experience and understand the area, and the neighborhoods that you are familiar with in your own life.

Google Street View
Search for your neighborhood or agency, switch to satellite view and then click & drag the orange person icon to a street. Virtually walk around your neighborhood on the day the Google car drove through.
Crowdsourced neighborhoods of Boston
A crowdsourced map of where people "feel" are the neighborhood boundaries in Boston. (You can participate and add your opinions too.)
Boston Indicators Project
This resource is so useful, you may find yourself reading more and more just for fun! Start with Community Snapshots and then explore the tools, data and other resources.
Crime Reports
This is how the BPD shares city crime statistics. Again, this may give some backstory and context to your observations or experiences.
MBTA Tracker Apps
The MBTA shares real-time vehicle tracking data with developers, so there are many app options for trip planning and bus/train tracking. These may help you get a feel for neighborhood transportation challenges.
Social Media
Curious to know what community members and others are saying about the neighborhood? Search for it on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Yelp, etc. This is not quantitative, but may enhance your impressions of the environment and community.
Rich Blocks, Poor Blocks
This is one of many census data-based tools that visualizes neighborhood data. Use this to get an idea of if your community predominantly rents or owns, and the price ranges.

Statistics

Visualized Data

Sage Data
Simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for social science researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.
▸ User guide
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics has all the data you need to answer key research questions and understand the socio-demographic and economic conditions of Boston and any geographic area in the United States.
Measure of America
Similar to the reference book of the same title, this interactive resource lets you compare the Human Development Index in different parts of the United States.
U.S. Census - Interactive Maps
Work with interactive mapping tools from across the Census Bureau.

Health Statistics

Health of Boston Report
The purpose of these reports is to provide descriptive information about the health status and factors that influence the health of Boston residents.
National Center for Health Statistics
The primary health statistics agency for the United States, and maintained by the Centers for Disease Control, NCHS. Includes statistics on topics such as diseases and prevention, injuries, healthcare and insurance, life stages and populations, and lifestyle.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce - Health Data, Tools & Statistics
Good for a wide variety of public health resources.
WHO Data & Statistics
Provides access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.

Resources for General Statistics

Sage Data
Simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for social science researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.
▸ User guide
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics has all the data you need to answer key research questions and understand the socio-demographic and economic conditions of Boston and any geographic area in the United States.
Explore Census Data (Formerly American FactFinder)
▸ A leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
▸ Advanced search
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Measure of America
Similar to the reference book of the same title, this interactive resource lets you compare the Human Development Index in different parts of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Available through 2011, both in print and online. After 2011 the Abstract will no longer be published, although the data will still be available through the Census and other government organizations
Sense About Science USA
A collaborative project with the American Statistical Association to improve statistical literacy among journalists, academic journal editors, and researchers.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Find statistics on corrections, courts, victims, types of crime, law enforcement and more. Also includes information on human trafficking.

Government Statistics

Explore Census Data - U.S. Census Bureau
A leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Find statistics on corrections, courts, victims, types of crime, law enforcement and more. Also includes information on human trafficking.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Available through 2011, both in print and online. After 2011 the Abstract will no longer be published, although the data will still be available through the Census and other government organizations
Children's Bureau: Statistics & Research
Using information collected through various monitoring and reporting systems, the Children's Bureau analyzes and reports data on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.
ACL: Data & Statistics on Older Adults
The Administration for Community Living was created around the fundamental principle that older adults and people of all ages with disabilities should be able to live where they choose, with the people they choose, and with the ability to participate fully in their communities.
SAMHSA - Data
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.
National Center for Health Statistics
The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
Department of Homeland Security - Topics
See a variety of topics handled by the Department of Homeland Security.

Social Work Statistics

Administration on Aging: Statistics
This information is a wide variety of statistical information about the growing population of people 65+.
Children's Bureau: Statistics & Research
Using information collected through various monitoring and reporting systems, the Children's Bureau analyzes and reports data on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.
Boston Indicators Project
This resource is so useful, you may find yourself reading more and more just for fun! Start with Community Snapshots and then explore the tools, data and other resources.
ChildStats: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time.
Boston's Way Home
Find information on the services and programs available to homeless people in Boston, as well as data and reports on homelessness in the city.
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
Supports planning, analysis, and decision-making activities through the collection, validation, analysis, and dissemination of key statistics on Veteran population and VA programs.
National Institute of Mental Health
An extensive collection of our best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
SAMHSA - Data
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.
United States Interagency Council on Homelessness
Find statistics, reports, and programs for homeless people from federal, state, local, and non-profit agencies.
The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey (NISVS)
The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey (NISVS) is an ongoing survey that collects the most current and comprehensive national- and state-level data on intimate partner violence, sexual violence and stalking victimization in the United States. CDC developed NISVS to collect data on these important public health problems and enhance violence prevention efforts.
DoD Sexual Assault Prevention and Response
This website is the Department of Defense's resource for people who deal with or have been affected be sexual assault.
Trafficking in Persons Report 2019
The Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report is the U.S. Government’s principal diplomatic tool to engage foreign governments on human trafficking.
Department of Homeland Security
The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats the U.S. faces.

Community Info

Boston HealthNet Community Health Centers
Looking for community health centers in Boston? These are the centers affiliated with BMC.
HRSA: Find a Health Center
Find HRSA-supported Health Centers in your community using this tool through the US Dept. of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration.
The Health of Boston
An annual BPHC report, this health equity and demographics by Boston neighborhood. In addition to the full pdf report, there are interactive maps and data by neighborhood.
National Center for Education Statistics
A wonderful resources for education statistics from across the country.
Boston Public Schools: Facts & Figures
These facts and figures (including budgets) are generated by the BPS system, about the system.
Mass. Dept. of Education: Statistical Reports
Use these reports for information on enrollment, graduation, exclusions, state profiles and more.
Mass. Dept. of Education: School/District Profiles
These profiles include information on all types of organizations - private, alternate, public, and more.

NAICS or SIC Codes

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are classification systems that the United States government created in order to group similar companies together for the purpose of analyzing data. They'll be helpful as you use SimplyAnalytics.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The Economic Census publishes this resource online, and provides descriptions of NAICS codes as well as a searchable index for the 2017, 2012 and 2007 NAICS Manuals.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System
This website is maintained by the United States Department of Labor, and allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword.
NAICS Association
This is not a government website, but rather maintained by a private company. However, this website provides a good one-stop place for searching NAICS and SIC systems, as well as a drill-down table for the codes.