LibGuides: Modern Languages: Resources for Your Major: Spanish

Articles and Web Sources

Language Tutorials
News in Spanish

Libro digital Herramientas de español Hosted by Bowdoin College, this is a concise outline of essential grammar structures based on John Turner's All the Spanish Grammar You Really Need to Know.
Más arriba: Spanish Language Exercises Developed by Gary Aitken of Trent University, this is an interactive workbook of introductory Spanish language exercises, based on the pictorial contextualization of fundamental vocabulary and language points.
Spanish Language & Culture Developed by Barbara Kuczun Nelson of Colby College, this site includes a guide to Spanish grammar as well as numerous cultural resources.
Spanish Proficiency Exercises From the University of Texas at Austin, this site includes video interviews and podcasts, as well as related grammar, vocabulary, and phrases.
Tomísimo Tomísimo is a community where you can get help with Spanish and connect with other Spanish learners and Spanish speakers. Try the Spanish English Dictionary as well as the Spanish verb conjugator.
Verbix This site provides a tool for Spanish verb conjugation.

ABC
Noticias de España
El Dia
Noticias de Argentina
El Diario
Noticias de Bolivia
El Mecurio Online
Online news portal from Chile.
El Mundo
Noticias de España
El Nuevo Día
Noticias de Puerto Rico
El País
Noticias de España
El Siglo
Noticias de Panama
El Tiempo
Noticias de Colombia
El Universal
Noticias de Venezuela
El Universal.mx
Noticias de Mexico
Excélsior
Noticias de Mexico
La Crónica de Hoy
Noticias de Mexico
La Nación
Noticias de Argentina
La Nación - Costa Rica
Noticias de Costa Rica
La Republica
Noticias de Peru
LaVanguardia
Noticias de España
Prensa Escrita
Links to Spanish-language news sources throughout the world.

Background Sources

Books

Cervantes Project Online editions of works by Cervantes, bibliographies, images of times and works of Cervantes.
HathiTrust HathiTrust provides access to millions of digitized materials from around the world.
LibriVox
LibriVox audiobooks are free for anyone to listen to on their computers, iPods or other mobile device, or to burn onto a CD. Titles on LibriVox are in the public domain and include a wide array of classic titles across disciplines.
Open Library Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. It makes over 1,000,000 free ebook versions of classic literature available at your fingertips.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 36,000 free ebook versions of titles in the public domain to download to your PC, Kindle, Android, iOS or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.

One of the best ways to discover the perfect source for your topic is to browse the library stacks by call number range. Each call number range represents a particular subject and all of the books on a particular topic will be located in the same general area on the shelves. So if you want a book on the Spanish language, go to the call number range beginning with PC4001 to see what we have!

History:

LC Call Number	Subject
DP 1-682	Spain and Portugal
F 1201-3799	Latin America. Spanish America
F 1401-1419	Latin America (General)
F 1421-1440	Central America
F 1461-1477	Guatemala
F 1481-1497	El Salvador
F 1521-1537	Nicaragua
F 1751-1854.9	Cuba
F 2201-3799	South America
F 3051-3285	Chile
F 3401-3619	Peru

Literature:

LC Call Number	Subject
PC 4001-4977	Spanish Language
PQ 6001-8929	Spanish Literature
PQ 7081-8560	Spanish America

Recommended Web Resources

There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Spanish Literature & Culture as well as online primary texts (stories, poems and novels) and recordings of literature being read aloud.

Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art The ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
El Poder de la Palabra This site includes biographies, bibliographies and text excerpts by and about writers, composers, architects and actors worldwide, including an extensive selection of outstanding Latin American, Spanish, and Portuguese authors.
Instituto Cervantes A public institution created by the Spanish government in 1991 to promote the teaching of the Spanish language and the diffusion of Spanish and Spanish-American culture.
LANIC The Latin American network Information Center (or LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas, Austin.
RTVE.es A la Carta RTVE.es is the Spanish public broadcasting company and it provides free online streaming for a wide variety of its films, documentaries and television programming.
Voice of the Shuttle: Literature in Spanish & Portuguese From UC Santa Barbara, this is a comprehensive list of web resources on literature in Spanish and Portuguese.
Iberian Studies This resource from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) provides an annotated list of scholarly resources relevant to Iberian studies (Spain, Portugal and Andorra)and organized by topic.
Reading Europe: European culture through the book The "Reading Europe: European culture through the book" exhibition offers a rare opportunity to view some of the hidden literary gems from the national libraries of Europe.
Google Español

Background Sources

Find Articles

Academic Search Ultimate
- Why search here?
  Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
- What's included?
  It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
Credo Reference
- Why search here?
  Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier.
- What's included?
  Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.

DialNET Spanish Language Journals DialNet indexes Spanish language journals (and English-language journals about relevant Spanish topics) in science, art, literature, humanities and the social sciences.

Gale Literary Sources
- Why search here?
  Gale Literary Sources brings together several literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in new ways.
- What's included?
  Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Gale eBooks, and Contemporary Authors Online. Search it to find thousands of articles on literature as well as background information about authors, historical trends, critical theory, and much more.
Gale eBooks
- Why search here?
  Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area.
- What's included?
  Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.

Handbook of Latin American Studies A bibliography created by scholars on Latin American works. It rotates every year between works selected from the social sciences or the humanities.

JSTOR
- Why search here?
  JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.
- What's included?
  Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MLA Bibliography includes two parts: MLA Bibliography and MLA Directory of Periodicals, which are both produced by the Modern Language Association. These sources focus on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism and dramatic arts, but also include other subjects.
- What's included?
  MLA Bibliography provides citations for journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, dissertations, etc.

Open Access Directory: Languages and Literature
Identify electronic journals in the fields of Languages and Literatures that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost.
Open Library of the Humanities The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) publishes open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). All of its academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship they publish showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.

Project MUSE
- Why search here?
  Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.
- What's included?
  Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.