Skip to main content

French: Articles on Your Topic

Resources for the study of French language and literature

Search for Articles on Topics in French in these Databases

Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of articles on topics in French, including literary criticism, cultural history and more. The resources on this page include articles from both scholarly and popular sources, so be sure to evaluate your sources in order to make sure they're appropriate for your project.

French Language News Sources on the Web

Simmons librarians have created a customized search engine that allows you to search French-language news sources on the free web.  Use the French Language Google Custom Search Engine to search a variety of selected (see below for a list) French-language newspapers at the same time.

French-Language Periodicals

Toutes ces sources d'information sont inclus dans le moteur de recherche personnalisée Google. Utilisez le Google Custom Search pour rechercher tous à la fois ou rechercher des sites individuels un à la fois.

Developing Search Terms

The first step in picking a topic is to brainstorm by asking yourself a few questions.  What do you already know about this topic from your course readings?  Are there similar ideas that you might want to explore?  What are the key concepts that you're interested in pursuing?

Once you've spent a bit of time answering these questions, you can take the concepts you've identified and use the keywords and phrases to start searching for information.  Keep in mind that you'll need to build a base of knowledge before you can write effectively.

Database Search Strategies

Databases respond best to keyword searching.  To search efficiently, turn your research question into a keyword search:

Research Question:  How does Flaubert conceive of memory in Madame Bovary?

Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
Madame Bovary and memory

Search Two: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
Madame Bovary and memor*

Search Three: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
(memor* or rememb* or recoll*) and Madame Bovary

Truncate keywords where applicable.  Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term.  Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term.  Example: educat* will find educate, educates, education, educators, educating and more.

 Memor*

 Rememb*

 Recoll*

 

Will Find:

 

 Memory
 Memory's
 Memories
 Memorial
 Memorials
 Memorialize

 Remember
 Remembers
 Remembered
 Remembering
 
 

 Recollect
 Recollects
 Recollected
 Recollecting

Finding Full Text

You can find the full text, which means a complete copy, of an article in a number of ways, including direct links to HTML Full Text and PDF Full Text in the database you're searching as well as linked full text in a different database or online journal (Find Full Text).  See the illustrations below for where to find the full text in each case.



If you click the Find Full Text button and aren't taken directly to a complete copy of the article you want, you may see a citation that includes a link to the PDF or HTML full text. Below are samples of what you might see and where to get a full-text article.

Example of where to find the PDF in another database:

Example of where to find the PDF in an online journal: