Skip to main content

Physical Therapy: Articles on Your Topic

Connect directly to a wide variety of resources to support your clinical and research needs.

Searching the Literature

The resources on this page are recommended for when you need to find evidence-based research literature and other types of articles for literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, and other projects.  You'll also find search and evaluation strategies to help you find the best articles for your topic.

Databases for Health Sciences

Recommended E-Resources for Physical Therapy

Citation Searching

Did you know?

Resources like Web of Science and Google Scholar will show you cited and citing references for any article you find in them. 

Link Google Scholar to Simmons Library Resources

Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically.  Once you configure the Library Links settings in Google Scholar, links to full-text articles will display in Google Scholar when they're available through Simmons Library.

Use Google Scholar From On-Campus

      To make these links appear, just access Google Scholar from any Simmons computer and the links will automatically be included.

Google Scholar From Off-Campus

  1. Click on Settings link in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
  2. Choose "Library Links" on the left, type Simmons Library and click the "Search" button.
  3. If prompted, check "Simmons College - Check Simmons Full Text" from the list of results.
  4. Click the blue "Save" button.
  5. Start searching Googel Scholar with links to your library's resources (you may need to authenticate yourself to access these resources).

From APTA: Finding Information

It can sometimes be challenging to conduct research on physical therapy, and to fully understand the professional literature and terminology. This webpage from the American Physical Therapy Association offers research tips, database and web page recommendations, and links to related journals and magazines.

Finding Information in PT Literature


Note: Simmons subscribes to many of the discussed resources, making them available to you in this guide and on our website. For more information, ask a librarian.

Trust It or Trash It?

Trust It or Trash It? is a free online tool that helps you evaluate health information sources.  

Trust It or Trash It? was created by The Genetic Alliance.

Free Online Databases of Evidence-Based Resource

Make your process more efficient by remembering to request the full-text of any articles you find in these sources through Simmons Interlibrary Loan!

Searching Tips

Keywords are...

  • A good way to start a search.
  • The important concepts in your own words.
  • Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
  • Very flexible.

Connecting concepts...

  • Join similar ideas or alternate term with "OR."
  • Link different parts of your topic with "AND."
  • Exclude concepts with "NOT."

Limit to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly articles...

  • This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals.  
  • Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.

Narrow the Date Range...

  • When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.

Still not finding anything?  Ask a Librarian!

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...

 or  Find Full-Text green button

Both of these will take you to the article!

 

Click the Find Full-Text button and a new tab or window will open. In this tab, your article will load automatically. You will also see a YELLOW ribbon with a link saying "Go To Full Text Finder Results"--click the link if the article doesn't load on its own.