Skip to main content

Library and Information Science: Books on LIS History, Theory, Practice & More

In-Depth Information on the History of LIS, Theory, Practice & More

The library catalog is a great place to find in-depth information on topics in the history of LIS, theory, pratice and much more.  Use a simple keyword search to locate information on a particular topic.  You can also look for specific books by title or for books by an individual author or browse the stacks by call number.

What Else Can You Find in the Stacks?

If you're looking for articles on Library and Information Science, you might be tempted to look only in the databases for journal articles.  But books often collect a number of articles on a particular topic all in one place.  Below is a sample of some of the many books in the library's collection that contain essays on a single topic in LIS.

Still can't find it? Try WorldCat.

If you don't find what you need in Simmons' catalog, search WorldCat for books in other local libraries or in libraries around the world.

Search with WorldCat

Serendipity in the Stacks: Browse by Call Number

One of the best ways to discover the perfect source for your topic is to browse the library stacks by call number range.  Each call number range represents a particular subject and all of the books on a particular topic will be located in the same general area on the shelves. So if you want a book about library collections, go to the call number range beginning with Z662 to see what we have!

LC Call Number

Subject

 Z 4-115.5

 Books General)

 Z 116-659

 Book industries and trade

 Z 662-1000.5

 Libraries 

 Z 662-664

 Collections 

 Z 665-718.8

 Library science. Information science 

 Z 678.9-678.93

 Automation

 Z 679-680

 Library buildings. Library architecture

 Z 680.3-680.6

 Library communication systems 

 Z 681-681.3

 Reproduction of library materials. Storage media of library materials

 Z 681.5-681.7

 Trustees. Library boards, committees, etc. 

 Z 682-682.4

 Personnel 

 Z 687-718.85

 The collections. The books 

 Z 711-711.95

 Public services. Reference services 

 Z 712-714

 Circulation. Loans. Charging systems 

 Z 719-723

 Libraries (General)

 Z 729-875

 Library reports. History. Statistics

 Z 1001-1121

 General bibliography 

 Z 1201-4980

 National bibliography 

 Z 5051-7999

 Subject bibliography 

 ZA 3038-5180

 Information resources (General)

 ZA 3150-3159

 Information services. Information centers 

 ZA 4050-4480

 Electronic information resources 

 ZA 5049-5190

 Government information