Skip to main content

LIS 403 Evaluation of Information Services: Literature Review Examples

Finding Research Articles

Example One: The Query

Literature Review Topic:  What Do Teens Think About Their Public Library?

Databases to Search Depending on Your Topic

 LISS, LISA 

 Note: for this search, use the two LIS databases above

 Business Source Complete, General Business File, ABI Inform, Emerald 

 All A-Z Resources

Example One: The Search

 teen* or adolescent* or young adult* or youth* ti/ab
and public librar*         ti/ab
and attitude* or perception* or satisfaction ti/ab
and survey or study ti/ab

 Note: 

 Limit to peer reviewed or scholarly journals, option is available in all databases.

 Add any additional appropriate terms you find in your search results.

 Try your search strings in both words in title and abstract.

 You don't need place your synonym search terms each in an individual box as illustrated above but rather all in one separated with "or"s.

 Search both LISA and LISS since each indexes some unique journals.

 Cull relevant research articles from your searches.

 Check both cited articles (research that the author cites in the article) for additional research, being sure that it is a  research study) and citing articles any research  articles that have cited the research studies you have identified on your subject.  Google Scholar is a useful tool for that as well as the "Cited References"  option in LISS from the More option on its toolbar.

Example One: Sample Results

Example Two: The Query

Literature Review:  How are Archives or Special Collections Marketing Their Resources and Services?

Databases to Search Depending on Your Topic

 LISS, LISA

 Note: for this search, use the two LIS databases above

 Business Source Complete, General Business File, ABI Inform, Emerald 

 All A-Z Resources

Example Two: The Search

  special collection* or archiv* or or ti/ab  
and promot* or outreach or publici*   ti/ab  
and study or survey or   ti/ab
             

 

Note: In addition to everything mentioned for the first search:

 can expand the term social media to: social network* or library 2.0 or blog* or wiki* or facebook or flickr or tumblr or youtube, etc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Example Two: Sample Results