Academic Search UltimateWhy search here?
Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
Art and Archaeology Technical AbstractsA comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Includes abstracts of international conservation literature.
Art Full TextWhy search here?
This resource covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more.What's included?
The coverage in this resource is international and also includes articles in full-color PDF format.
ARTstorWhy search here?
ARTstor is an online database of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. Faculty in the Art Department may create their own image collections and presentations for class.What's included?
With ARTstor you can zoom in on and pan images as well as print, save and organize them.
Bibliography of the History of ArtWhy search here?
Bibliography of the History of art indexes and abstracts books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer catalogs as well as articles on the history of Western art.What's included?
The BHA file covers items from 1975-2007.
This link opens in a new window
JSTORWhy search here?
JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.What's included?
Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
Oxford Art OnlineWhy search here?
Oxford Art Online provides simultaneous access to a wide range of authoritative online art resources.What's included?
Oxford’s art reference works, including Grove Art Online, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
Limited to 1 concurrent user.
WorldCatWhy search here?
Provided by OCLC, WorldCat is the world's largest network of library catalogs. Use this resource to find books and other materials in the Simmons Library or in other local, national and international libraries.What's included?
If Simmons does not own a book or periodical title, use the libraries icon to determine which libraries in Massachusetts have it or request the item using Interlibrary Loan.
This link opens in a new window
ArtcyclopediaIndex to more than 1,200 sites related to the arts, including links to more than 32,000 works by 7,500 artists. The works can be browsed or searched by artist, title or museum.
Mother of all Art and Art History Links PagesCreated by Patrick Young at the University of Michigan, this site includes a vast array of links to research resources, art museums, textual and linguistic resources and much more.
SmarthistorySmarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.
Credo ReferenceWhy search here?
Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier.What's included?
Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.
Gale eBooksWhy search here?
Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area. What's included?
Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
Art in AmericaArt in America is an illustrated magazine that focuses on the contemporary art world in the United States and includes artist and genre profiles, updates about art movements, exhibition reviews, and event schedules.
Open Access Directory: ArtUse this resource to identify electronic journals in the fields of Arts and Architecture that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost. Includes links and titles to open access journals.