The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
Click to search this background source!
Find Graphic Art & Design on the Web
For additional resources, go to the General Art Books & Images tab of this guide.
Ad*AccessFrom Duke University, images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript LibraryLocated at Yale University, the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library has digitized a portion of its collection and makes it available on its website, including a tremendous amount of graphic art represented by lobby cards, posters and more.
British Library Images OnlineBritish Library Images Online is a unique resource for picture buyers, graphic designers and publishers, enabling users to license thousands of high quality images from the British Library's unparalleled collections.
Emergence of Advertising in AmericaFrom Duke University, a collection of over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Gallery of Graphic DesignBrowse advertising graphic design from the 1930s through the 1960s by year or by product, publication, illustrator and more.
History of Graphic DesignAn online encyclopedia tracing graphic design from the development of symbols and handwriting to post-modern and post-industrial design.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogProvides access to 1.25 million digital images and to more than 600,000 group- and item-level descriptions covering about 75% of the 14 million photographs, prints, posters, cartoons, and architectural materials in the Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division holdings.
Princeton Graphic Arts CollectionThe Graphic Arts Collection at Princeton includes artists' and private press books, as well as materials for the study of paper and papermaking, printing, calligraphy, printmaking, fine binding, typography, and book design.
Victoria & Albert Museum Collections“Search for over 20,000 works and over 26,000 images from the V&A’s collections, including ceramics, fashion, furniture, glass, metalwork, paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture, and textiles.”
World Digital LibrarySignificant primary materials from cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials.
Open Directory: Graphic DesignThe Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. Note that the site is now static and is not being updated.
Top 100 Graphic Design BlogsUseful for students and professional graphic designers, this is a list of blogs written by professionals and freelancers that contain information on everything from jobs to resources, as well as inspiration.