Skip to main content

Photography: Articles on Your Topic

Research resources for photography.

Library Search

Want to discover everything that the library has on your topic? Try searching for your topic in Library Search, which simultaneously searches across most of the library's resources.

Search for Articles on Photography in these Databases

Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of articles on topics in Photography, including technology and criticism. The resources on this page include articles from both scholarly and popular sources, so be sure to evaluate your sources in order to make sure they're appropriate for your project.

Search Google Scholar

Looking for more articles?  Search Google Scholar for additional information on your topic.

Developing Search Terms

The first step in picking a topic is to brainstorm by asking yourself a few questions.  What do you already know about this topic from your course readings?  Are there similar ideas that you might want to explore?  What are the key concepts that you're interested in pursuing?

Once you've spent a bit of time answering these questions, you can take the concepts you've identified and use the keywords and phrases to start searching for information.  Keep in mind that you'll need to build a base of knowledge before you can write effectively.

Database Search Strategies

Once you've identified the keywords and phrases for your topic, you can start to search the databases for articles on that topic. For example, if you want to write about how Diane Arbus influenced younger generations of photographers, turn your topic into a keyword search like this:

Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
Diane Arbus and influence and photographers

Search Two: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
Diane Arbus and influen* and photog*

Search Three: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
Diane Arbus and (influen* or inspir*) and photog*

Truncate keywords where applicable.  Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term.  Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term.  Example: educat* will find educate, educates, education, educators, educating and more.

 Influen*

 Photog*

 Inspir*

 

Will Find:

 

 Influence
 Influences
 Influencing
 Influential

 Photograph
 Photographer
 Photographers
 Photography
 Photographic
 Photographing

 Inspire
 Inspires
 Inspired
 Inspiring
 Inspiration
 Inspirational

Finding Full Text

You can find the full text, which means a complete copy, of an article in a number of ways, including direct links to HTML Full Text and PDF Full Text in the database you're searching as well as linked full text in a different database or online journal (Find Full Text).  See the illustrations below for where to find the full text in each case.



If you click the Find Full Text button and aren't taken directly to a complete copy of the article you want, you may see a citation that includes a link to the PDF or HTML full text. Below are samples of what you might see and where to get a full-text article.

Example of where to find the PDF in another database:

Example of where to find the PDF in an online journal: