LibGuides: Social Welfare Policies & Services: Statistics & Opinion Data

Resources for General Statistics

SimplyAnalytics Why search here? SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) has all the data you need to answer key research questions, make sound business decisions, and understand the socio-demographic and economic conditions of any geographic area in the United States.What's included? They currently offer more than 75,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health. Limited to 5 concurrent users.

Sage Data Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) is a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics that allows users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts, including descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Explore Census Data Search all the data available from the Census Bureau.
Bureau of Labor Statistics The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Mapping the 2010 U.S. Census A New York Times project that allows users to browse population growth and decline, changes in racial and ethnic concentrations and patterns of housing development.
Measure of America (online) Similar to the reference book of the same title, this interactive resource lets you compare the Human Development Index in different parts of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Available through 2011, both in print and online. After 2011 the Abstract will no longer be published, although the data will still be available through the Census and other government organizations
STATS: We Check Out the Numbers Behind the News The non-profit, non-partisan Statistical Assessment Service - STATS - works to correct scientific misinformation in the media and in public policy resulting from bad science, politics, or a simple lack of information or knowledge; and to act as a resource for journalists and policy makers on major scientific issues and controversies.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, literacy, science & technology, culture and communication.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Find statistics on corrections, courts, victims, types of crime, law enforcement and more. Also includes information on human trafficking.
Statistical Insight Indexes U.S. Federal statistics (1973-present), state government and business statistics (1980-present), and international statistics (1880-present). Full-text coverage: 2004-present (U.S. Federal), 2007-present (state, business, international).

Statistical Insight is available with a BPL log in (visit a BPL branch to get a library card or get an eCard online)

Social Work Statistics

Administration for Children Families Statistics & Research: Children's Bureau The Children's Bureau is an office of the Administration for Children & Families (a government agency that compiles statistics and funds research with other agencies). Provides state and national data. Includes statistics on adoption and foster care; child abuse and neglect; and child welfare.
Administration on Aging: Statistics This information is a wide variety of statistical information about the growing population of people 65+.
Boston Indicators Project A project of the Boston Foundation, that helps facilitate an understanding Boston and its neighborhoods in a regional, national and global context. Includes granular statistics about Boston neighborhoods.
ChildStats: Forum on Child and Family Statistics The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time.
Ending Homelessness in Boston Find information on the services and programs available to homeless people in Boston, as well as data and reports on homelessness in the city.
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics The National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (NCVAS) supports planning, analysis, and decision-making activities through the collection, validation, analysis, and dissemination of key statistics on Veteran population and VA programs.
National Institute of Mental Health Understanding the scope and treatment of mental health problems in the US is central to NIMH's mission. Easily navigable resources highlight a collection of NIMH's best data on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
SAMHSA: Data, Outcomes and Quality A collection of data, surveys, and other publications organized by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
United States Interagency Council on Homelessness Find statistics, reports, and programs for homeless people from federal, state, local, and non-profit agencies.
The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey (NISVS)
DoD Sexual Assault Prevention and Response This website is the Department of Defense's resource for people who deal with or have been affected be sexual assault.
Trafficking in Persons Report The Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report is the U.S. Government’s principal diplomatic tool to engage foreign governments on human trafficking.
Department of Homeland Security Search here for statistics on immigration-related topics, human trafficking and more.

Health Statistics

Boston Health Data Annual report reviewing of select health conditions, risk behaviors, and social determinants of health in the city of Boston.
National Center for Health Statistics The primary health statistics agency for the United States, and maintained by the Centers for Disease Control, NCHS. Includes statistics on topics such as diseases and prevention, injuries, healthcare and insurance, life stages and populations, and lifestyle.
PHP Health Data Tools & Statistics Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources.
WHO Data & Statistics WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation

Public Opinion Research

Gallup
Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 75 years. Gallup's reputation for delivering relevant, timely, and visionary research on what people around the world think and feel is the cornerstone of the organization. Gallup employs many of the world's leading scientists in management, economics, psychology, and sociology, and our consultants assist leaders in identifying and monitoring behavioral economic indicators worldwide.
more...less...
Gallup consultants help organizations boost organic growth by increasing customer engagement and maximizing employee productivity through measurement tools, coursework, and strategic advisory services. Gallup's 2,000 professionals deliver services at client organizations, through the Web, at Gallup University's campuses, and in more than 40 offices around the world.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Marist College Institute for Public Opinion
MIPO is a survey research center at Marist College and it brings to you The Marist Poll. This online poll bureau covers a wide range of topics including politics, money, family, spirituality, sports, entertainment, and more. It is also a source of expert information resources, helpful to research.
National Opinion Research Center (NORC)
The University of Chicago's NORC conducts social science research projects in the area of public interest. The projects span local, regional, national, and international levels.
more...less...
They cover a wide range of topics, such as arts & humanities, criminal justice, education, energy & environment, finances, health, international, labor & employment, organizations, special populations, society & culture, substance abuse, and technology.
General Social Survey
The GSS is the 2nd most frequently analyzed information source in the social sciences.
more...less...
Put out by the University of Chicago's National Opinion Research Center (NORC), it is regarded as the best source of data on societal trends and is the only survey that has tracked American opinions over a long period of time, since 1972.
RealClearPolitics
RealClearPolitics (RCP) is an independent, non-partisan media company that is the trusted source for the best news, analysis and commentary. Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RealClearPolitics covers all aspects of the U.S. political process including policy, elections and government.
more...less...
RealClearPolitics features the most comprehensive coverage online by selecting the best pieces, publishing columns from top syndicated authors and producing original content. RealClearPolitics editorial staff writes over 30% of the daily content. The site features articles on all the major issues of the day with a deliberate and committed effort to present a wide-range of ideological perspectives. This unique collection of content makes RealClearPolitics the site that policy makers and opinion leaders go to for the most in-depth news coverage.

RealClearPolitics is the essential site for those at the intersection of politics and business. RealClearPolitics influential and important audience, which has come to trust and depend on the site's agenda-setting, extensive and balanced coverage, is what sets RealClearPolitics apart from its competitors.
Public Policy Polling
Public Policy Polling was formed in 2001 to measure and track public opinion in an affordable way. They conduct surveys for politicians & political organizations, unions, consultants, and businesses. They make their findings and poll questions available on their website.