Skip to main content

Finding Media: Streaming Feature Films

Use this guide to help locate media in the library and on the web, including DVDs, CDs, streaming video and streaming audio.

Feature Films from Swank Digital Campus

The Simmons Library currently streams a number of feature films on the Digital Campus platform provided by Swank as well as the Criterion Collection/Janus Films Collection, First Run Features, and Music Box Films collections on Kanopy. For information about additional sources of streaming feature films, including both free and pay options, see the Finding Media guide.

The collection of streaming feature films available to the Simmons community via Swank varies by academic year. Search the Digital Campus catalog to see if a film is available to order from Swank. Then click the link below to see if the library currently has the streaming version of an individual title or contact a librarian to request the streaming version of another feature film.

Streaming in the Library Catalog

If you're looking for a streaming feature film on a particular topic or for a particular title, search for the film by keyword, then use the Limit/Sort button at the top of the screen to narrow your results to streaming films.


On the next page, use the dropdown arrow to choose the streaming video format, then click the search button:

 

Once you've found the video you want in the results list, click the title to open the full record for the video you want.  Once you're in the full record, to view the film click the view streaming video button underneath the title and publication information:

 

Feature Films on the Kanopy Platform

The Simmons Library now provides access to foreign language and American independent feature films from the Criterion Collection/Janus Films Collection, Music Box Films,  and First Run Features on the Kanopy Platform. 

Click the Kanopy link to search the entire Kanopy platform, including The Criterion Collection, First Run Features, and Music Box Films.

Preview Films

Curious about one of the streaming feature films available in Swank or Kanopy?  Search YouTube for the title of the film along with the word trailer to watch previews.