Skip to main content

Public Health: Articles on Your Topic

Use this guide to find a wide range of interdisciplinary resources and information about public health topics.

Searching the Literature

The resources on this page are recommended for when you need to find evidence-based research literature and other types of articles for literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, and other projects.  You'll also find search and evaluation strategies to help you find the best articles for your topic.

Interactive Medline tutorial

Not sure where to start?  This interactive tutorial will walk you through how to search for articles.

E-Resources for Public Health

Link Google Scholar to Simmons Library Resources

Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically.  Once you configure the Library Links settings in Google Scholar, links to full-text articles will display in Google Scholar when they're available through Simmons Library.

 

Use Google Scholar On-Campus

To make these links appear, just access Google Scholar from any Simmons computer and the links will automatically be included.
 

Use Google Scholar Off-Campus

  1. Click on Settings link in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
  2. Choose "Library Links" on the left, type Simmons Library and click the "Search" button.
  3. If prompted, check "Simmons College - Check Simmons Full Text" from the list of results.
  4. Click the blue "Save" button.
  5. Start searching Google Scholar with links to your library's resources (you may need to authenticate yourself to access these resources).

Databases for Health Sciences

Trust It or Trash It?

Trust It or Trash It? is a free online tool that helps you evaluate health information sources.  

Trust It or Trash It? was created by The Genetic Alliance.

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...

 or  Find Full-Text green button

Both of these will take you to the article!

 

Click the Find Full-Text button and a new tab or window will open. In this tab, your article will load automatically. You will also see a YELLOW ribbon with a link saying "Go To Full Text Finder Results"--click the link if the article doesn't load on its own.

Citation Searching

Did you know?

Resources like Web of Science and Google Scholar will show you cited and citing references for any article you find in them.