LibGuides: Public Health: Data & Statistics

General Statistics Resources

Sage Data
SAGE Data (formerly Data Planet) provides extensive social science data covering geographies within the United States and spans topics such as healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. It includes CQ Press Local Stats and State Stats.

United States Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
US Census Bureau
The U.S. Census is a count of everyone living in the United States every 10 years. The next Census is in 2010. This site includes information on People and Households, Business and Industry, Geography, Newsroom, Special Topics, Population Data, and Quick Facts by State.
USAGov Statistics
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Boston Public Health Commission
Provides the latest reports from Boston health professionals about important public health issues including regional health information, substance abuse recovery and much more.

SimplyAnalytics
- Why search here?
  SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) has all the data you need to answer key research questions, make sound business decisions, and understand the socio-demographic and economic conditions of any geographic area in the United States.
- What's included?
  They currently offer more than 75,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health.
Limited to 5 concurrent users.

Sunlight Foundation Web Integrity Project
Our mission is to monitor changes to government websites, holding our government accountable by revealing shifts in public information and access to Web resources, as well as changes in stated policies and priorities.

Health Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics The primary health statistics agency for the United States, and maintained by the Centers for Disease Control, NCHS. Includes statistics on topics such as diseases and prevention, injuries, healthcare and insurance, life stages and populations, and lifestyle.
PHP Health Data Tools & Statistics Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources.
WHO Data & Statistics WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation
CDC Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System On-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. Data are collected monthly in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.
CDC FastStats Provides quick access to statistics on topics of importance to public health. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health Easy access to children's health data, gathered through the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN), and share the results through this free online resource.
AHRQ Measuring Healthcare Quality
America's Health Rankings A comprehensive perspective on our national health issues, state by state. The 2010 Rankings features an interactive map where you can explore statistics and compare states side-by-side.
Healthy People A 10-year national program for improving the health of all Americans. Use this resource to find clinical recommendations, evidence-based interventions and data from nationally representative sample surveys.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports (MMWR)
The Vaccine Confidence Project (LSHTM) The purpose of the project is to monitor public confidence in immunization programs. Includes data and recent literature related to public confidence in vaccines.

Social Work Statistics

National Institute of Mental Health Understanding the scope and treatment of mental health problems in the US is central to NIMH's mission. Easily navigable resources highlight a collection of NIMH's best data on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
Administration for Children Families Statistics & Research: Children's Bureau The Children's Bureau is an office of the Administration for Children & Families (a government agency that compiles statistics and funds research with other agencies). Provides state and national data. Includes statistics on adoption and foster care; child abuse and neglect; and child welfare.
ChildStats Provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time.

EDUCATION STATISTICS

Sage Data Why search here? Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) is a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics that allows users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts, including descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.What's included? Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) incorporates the content of Sage Stats and US Political Stats Datasets and covers a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Digest of Education Statistics A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from pre-k through graduate school.
The Condition of Education Educational indicators, assessments for all grade levels, surveys, and much more.
EDSTATS Data from a variety of national and international sources and provides information on key education topics.
Lost Opportunity: A 50 State Report on the Opportunity to Learn A state-by-state comparison of both academic proficiency (as illustrated by the percentage of students scoring at or above proficient on the eighth grade National Assessment of Educational Progress - NAEP reading exam) and access to high-performing schools.
Education at a Glance 2018 Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators is the authoritative source for accurate information on the state of education around the world. It provides data on the output of educational institutions; the impact of learning across countries; the financial and human resources invested in education; access, participation and progression in education; and the learning environment and organisation of schools. The 2015 edition introduces more detailed analysis of participation in early childhood and tertiary levels of education. The report also examines first generation tertiary-educated adults’ educational and social mobility, labour market outcomes for recent graduates, and participation in employer-sponsored formal and/or non-formal education. Readiness to use information and communication technology for problem solving in teaching and learning is also examined. The publication provides indicators on the impact of skills on employment and earnings, gender differences in education and employment, and teacher and school leader appraisal systems. The report covers all 34 OECD countries and a number of partner countries (Argentina, Brazil, China, Colombia, India, Indonesia, Latvia, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia and South Africa, and for the first time, Costa Rica and Lithuania). The Excel™ spreadsheets used to create the tables and charts in Education at a Glance are available via the StatLinks provided throughout the publication.
OECD on Education Resources for pre-k to and beyond plus teacher salary information.
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, and U.S. history.
The School District Demographics System The Education Demographic and Geographic Estimates (EDGE) program develops information resources to identify and understand the social and spatial context of education in the U.S. It uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau’s American Community Survey to create custom indicators of social, economic, and housing conditions for school-age children and their parents. It also uses spatial data collected by NCES and the Census Bureau to create geographic locale indicators, school point locations, school district boundaries, and other types of educational geography to support spatial analysis.