TIP:We have many books on individual and collective biographies. They may be on reserve, in the reference collection, or in the circulating collection. Search the online catalog under title, subject, and author. Use WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan to identity and request any titles we don't own.
TIP:Although the 4th edition is online, you need to consult the 1975 Marcel Dekker 73 volume set in the Reference Collection as well since it covers much more content. Use the Subject Indexes in volumes 46, 47, and 73 to locate entries on library dignitaries such as Dewey, Cutter, Jewett, etc.
TIP: Search the LIS databases for journal articles on your topic such as eminent librarians profiled on this page. Remember that Library Literature Retrospective (1905-1983) might be useful.
Why search here?
Developed by librarians from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database provides full-text coverage and high-quality indexing to help librarians and researchers to keep pace with the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field of library and information science.
Containing English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books, this database encompasses subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information management.
Why search here?
Library Literature and Information Full Text Retrospective provides access to nearly 80 years of citations that document all of the innovations, controversies and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship.
The database indexes library and information science periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses.
Selected List of Journals Containing Articles on Library History