Skip to main content

SW 402: Information Literacy for Social Work : Finding Information

Introduce and reinforce the skills you'll need to be an information-savvy Social Worker and/or successfully complete the ILOP.

Finding the Information You Need

This page will get you started with where to search for different types of information.  

Intrigued by what you're learning?  Explore the Library's resources and remember, you'll learn even search techniques in your research class!

What Information Is Where?

Type of Resource It is...
E-Resource Any electronic research material: online journal articles, e-books, websites, etc.
Database A searchable collection of articles and other academic writings available through the library.  You'll find these listed under "E-Resources."
Catalog Where you can search for locations of books, journals, videos, other media, archival materials and links to e-resources.
Library Guide A small website organized by a Librarian around a subject or course so that it's easy to find the print and e-resources for that subject or course.  For example, there is a Social Work subject guide, and a SW 441: Social Work Research course guide.
Library website The digital front door to the Simmons Library; your access point for all our services and resources.  

Google Scholar & Library Resources

Set up Google Scholar to link to Simmons Library and to connect to the full-text articles we subscribe to for you.  

Use Google Scholar From On-Campus

Just access Google Scholar from any Simmons computer and the links will automatically be included.

Configure Google Scholar From Off-Campus

  1. Click on Settings link in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
  2. Choose "Library Links" on the left, type Simmons Library and click the "Search" button.
  3. If prompted, check "Simmons College - Check Simmons Full Text" from the list of results.
  4. Click the blue "Save" button.
  5. Start searching Googel Scholar with links to your library's resources (you'll need your Simmons username and password to get to the full-text).

Learn By Doing: Interactive Tutorials

Use these interactive tutorials to practice finding information on your topic and prepare for the ILOP activity in Moodle.

Background & Contextual Information

Background and contexual resources like these help you check definitions, get overviews of a topic, pick keywords, and provide images, statistics and more.

Databases for Social Work

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...

 or  Find Full-Text green button

Both of these will take you to the article!

 

Click the Find Full-Text button and a new tab or window will open. In this tab, your article will load automatically. You will also see a YELLOW ribbon with a link saying "Go To Full Text Finder Results"--click the link if the article doesn't load on its own.