Skip to main content

HON 203: Islam and the West: Articles on Your Topic

Library Search

Want to discover everything that the library has on your topic? Try searching for your topic in Library Search, which simultaneously searches across most of the library's resources.

 

Search for Articles on Your Topic in these Databases

The links below will take you to databases where you can search for articles on art history and criticism, specific artists and objects. The resources on this page include articles from both scholarly and popular sources, so be sure to evaluate your sources in order to make sure they're appropriate for your project.

Finding Full Text

You can find the full text, which means a complete copy, of an article in a number of ways, including direct links to HTML Full Text and PDF Full Text in the database you're searching as well as linked full text in a different database or online journal (Find Full Text).  See the illustrations below for where to find the full text in each case.



If you click the Find Full Text button and aren't taken directly to a complete copy of the article you want, you may see a citation that includes a link to the PDF or HTML full text. Below are samples of what you might see and where to get a full-text article.

Example of where to find the PDF in another database:

Example of where to find the PDF in an online journal:

 

 

Developing Search Terms

The first step in picking a topic is to brainstorm by asking yourself a few questions.  What do you already know about this topic?  Are there similar ideas that you might want to explore?  What are the key concepts that you're interested in pursuing?

Once you've spent a bit of time answering these questions, you can take the concepts you've identified and use the keywords and phrases to start searching for information.  Keep in mind that you'll need to build a base of knowledge before you can write effectively.

Keyword Search Techniques

Databases respond best to keyword searching.  To search efficiently, turn your research question into a keyword search:

Research Question:  How is Islam used by political groups in the Middle East to advance their own causes?

Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
Islam and political groups and Middle East

Search Two: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
Islam* and political group* and Middle East*

Search Three: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
Islam* and (political group* or politician* or political part*) and Middle East*

Truncate keywords where applicable.  Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term.  Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term.  Example: educat* will find educate, educates, education, educators, educating and more.

 Islam*

 Politic*

 Middle East*

 

Will Find:

 

 Islam
 Islam's
 Islamic
 Islamist
 Islamist

 Politics
 Political
 Politician
 Politician's
 Politicians

 Middle East
 Middle East's
 Middle Eastern
 Middle Easterner
 Middle Easterners

Need more articles? Try Google Scholar!

Search Google Scholar for more articles on your topic.  And remember to read the Using Google page in this guide to learn how to evaluate material you find on the web!