LibGuides: Digital Humanities: Digital Tools & More

DIY Digital Humanities Projects

DH Tools A comprehensive list of digital humanities authoring tools with helpful descriptions from Fordham University libraries.
Best Practices for Digital Humanities Projects From the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, this guide serves as a overview for creating digital humanities projects.
Digital Humanities Guide from Temple University Provides a nice overview of the types of digital humanities projects that are being created as well as sample tools and projects.
National Endowment for the Humanities: Office of Digital Humanities The Office of Digital Humanities offers grant programs that address changes in the ways we read, write, learn, communicate, and play, due to the advent of networked digital technologies.

SEO from StoryMaps Ignore the technical stuff: there is information about where to put your keywords in there.
SEO from Search Engine Land Look here for basic materials about SEO.
Google's SEO Guide If you're primarily hoping Google will pick up your search terms, you may want to reference this guide when you pick your keywords.

hypothes.is This program allows for sentence-level note taking or critique on top of news, blogs, scientific articles, books, terms of service, ballot initiatives, legislation and more.
Serendip-o-matic Serendip-o-matic connects your sources to digital materials located in libraries, museums, and archives around the world.
TRACER Though TRACER is designed to facilitate research in text reuse detection (finding plagiarism), it can also be used as a digital humanities tool.

Bodleian Libraries Digital Manuscripts Toolkit The Digital Manuscripts Toolkit provides a platform to create, annotate, remix, and share digital archive images.
Recogito Recogito is an online platform for collaborative document annotation.

Commons in a Box Commons In A Box (CBOX) is free software that allows digital humanitarians to easily use the infrastructure that powers the CUNY Academic Commons.
DH Box From the CUNY Graduate Center, DH Box streamlines installation processes and provides a digital humanities laboratory in the cloud through simple sign-in via a web browser.
Omeka Omeka is a free and open source web-publishing platform for the display of library, museum, archives, and scholarly collections and exhibitions
UNC Prospect UNC Prospect is a free, open source data visualization and curation plug-in for WordPress.
Digital Mappa A freely available online environment for creating projects out of digital images and texts.

Augmented Notes Augmented Notes integrates scores and audio files to produce interactive multimedia websites in which measures of the score are highlighted in time with music.
Edition Visualization Technology Edition Visualization Technology is a light-weight, open source tool specifically designed to create digital editions from XML-encoded texts.
Stereogranimator Create and share 3D images from the stereograph collections of The New York Public Library (and others).

Timeline JS Timeline JS, an open-source tool that enables users to build an interactive project, incorporating multimedia elements and scholarly sources.
Sutori Sutori is a free tool that enables time-based digital storytelling. This product is said to be "Particularly useful in the presentation of historical data or the succession of a series of events describing a specific era."
Free Timeline Free Timeline allows you to create, save, and share timelines absolutely free. No signup required to make a timeline and the drag & drop interface is easy to use.
Timeglider Timeline is an online timeline creation tool that is free for students. It allows for zooming in on important events and unique timeline URLs give you the chance to share it on social media or embed it to a website.
Timetoast Free timeline creation tool that has a limited number of features and allows you only to include pictures and text, but it is easy to use and entirely free.
StoryMaps Use map data to build a multimedia storyline.
Open Historical Map A tool for storing and display map data throughout the history of the world

Data Rescue: Archives & Weather (DRAW) Help transcribe climate data from the McGill Observatory's historical weather logs.