Skip to main content

English 404: American Modernisms: Identity Formations in 1920s Literature: Literary Research: Scholarly Articles

Library Search

Library Search allows you to search across all of the Library's collections and includes: books, e-books, archival materials and media owned by Simmons College Library; research databases like MLA Bibliography, Project MUSE, and Academic Search Complete; e-journal collections like JSTOR; and biographical and theoretical information. Use Library Search to discover the places where materials on your topic reside.

Search for Articles by Topic in these Databases

Below is a selection of databases that include a vast number of articles on topics in English, including literary history, theory and criticism.  Remember, use the tools in the databases to limit your results by date to the past five years in order to discover the current context of the critical discussion!

Search Google Scholar for More Articles

Found a great article but it's too old to use?  Search for the title in Google Scholar then click the cited by link to see what's been written on the topic since then!

Database Search Strategies

Databases respond best to keyword searching.  To search efficiently, turn your research question into a keyword search:

Research Question:
How does Zora Neale Hurston address issues of gender and race in Their Eyes Were Watching God?

Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
Zora Neale Hurston and gender and race and Their Eyes Were Watching God

Search Two: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
Zora Neale Hurston and (gender or sex) and (race or racial or ethnicity) and Their Eyes Were Watching God

Search Three: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
Zora Neale Hurston and (gender* or sex*) and (race or racial* or ethnic*) and Their Eyes Were Watching God

Truncate keywords where applicable.  Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term.  Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term.  Example: educat* will find educate, educates, education, educators, educating and more.

 Gender*

 Sex*

 Ethnic*

 

Will Find:

 

 Gender  
 Genders
 Gendered
 

 Sex
 Sexes
 Sexual
 Sexuality
 Sexualities

 Ethnic
 Ethnicity
 Ethnicities
 Ethnically
 

Finding Full Text

You can find the full text, which means a complete copy, of an article in a number of ways, including direct links to HTML Full Text and PDF Full Text in the database you're searching as well as linked full text in a different database or online journal (Find Full Text).  See the illustrations below for where to find the full text in each case.



If you click the Find Full Text button and aren't taken directly to a complete copy of the article you want, you may see a citation that includes a link to the PDF or HTML full text. Below are samples of what you might see and where to get a full-text article.

Example of where to find the PDF in another database:

Example of where to find the PDF in an online journal: