Skip to main content

MLA Citation Guide (8th Edition): Journal Articles

This research guide is based on the MLA Handbook (8th edition)

What is a DOI?

DOI Numbers for Journal Articles

Some electronic content like journal articles are assigned a unique number called a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). The DOI gives a way to find an article. If a DOI is provided for a journal article, include it after the page numbers of the article as "doi:[doi number]". 

For a more detailed explanation, see our Permalinks, URLs, and DOIs, Oh my! page.

If you have a DOI and would like to look up an item with it, click here and enter the doi number where indicated.

Journal Article From Library Database - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number, Date of Publication, First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database, [doi:DOI number or permalink URL].

Works Cited List Example

Guillen, Jorge. "Does Financial Openness Matter in the Relationship Between Financial Development and Income Distribution in Latin America?" Emerging Markets Finance & Trade, vol. 52, no. 5, 2016, pp. 1145-1155. Business Source Premier, doi:10.1080/1540496X.2015.1046337.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Guillen 1146)

Journal Article From Library Database with D O I - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database, doi:DOI number.

  Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. And the word "and" before the second author's name.

Works Cited List Example

Salafia, Elizabeth Blodgett, and Jessica Lemer. "Associations Between Multiple Types of Stress and Disordered Eating Among Girls and Boys in Middle School." Journal of Child and Family Studies, vol. 21, no. 1, 2012, pp.148-57. Academic Search Premier. doi:10.1007/s10826-011-9458-z.

In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Salafia and Lemer 149)

Journal Article From Library Database no D O I - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database.

Works Cited List Example

Leichty, Toni. "Yes I Worry About My Weight... But for the Most Part I'm Content with My Body: Older Women's Body Dissatisfaction Alongside Contentment." Journal of Women & Aging, vol. 24, no. 1, 2012, pp. 70-88. Academic Search Premier. 

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Leichty 71)

 Note: While MLA 8th edition recommends including URLs, Simmons Library recommends that you use the permalink URL when citing a work found in a library database. Because library databases require a login most URLs in the browser address bar will stop working after the session ends. For help finding a journal article's permalink, ask a librarian.

Journal Article From Library Database no D O I - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database. 

  Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. And the word "and" before the second author's name.

Works Cited List Example

Larr, Allison S., and Matthew Neidell. "Pollution and Climate Change." The Future of Children, vol. 26, no. 1, Spring 2016, pp. 93-113. Academic OneFile Select (Gale)

  Note: Give as complete a date of publication as given. Because the season for the journal, "Spring" is given this is included as part of the date.

In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Larr and Neidell 96)

  Note: While MLA 8th edition recommends including URLs, Simmons Library recommends that you use the permalink URL when citing a work found in a library database. Because library databases require a login most URLs in the browser address bar will stop working after the session ends. For help finding a journal article's permalink, ask a librarian.

Journal Article From a Website - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number- Last Page Number if Given, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.

Works Cited List Example

Elson, Peter. "A Comparative Analysis of Nonprofit Policy Network Governance in Canada." Canadian Journal of Nonprofit and Social Economy Research, vol. 6, no. 2, 2015, pp. 42-64, anserj.ca/anser/ index.php/cjnser/article/view/201/127. Accessed 27 Jun. 2016.

 Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. In this example only the year was given.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Elson 44)

Journal Article From a Website - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number- Last Page Number if Given, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.

 Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Put the word ",and" before the second author's name.

Works Cited List Example

Sadig, Husam, and Ahmed Banany. "The Impact of Non-Response Weighting: Empirical Evidence From Modelling Residential Mobility." Journal of Social Research & Policy, vol. 5, no. 1, July 2014, pp. 91-99, www.jsrp.ro/site/jrspone/content/JSRP_Vol5_Iss1_Sadig. Accessed 27 Jun. 2016.

 Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. Both month and year were provided for this journal.

In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Sadig and Banany 91)

Journal Article in Print - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number- Last Page Number.

Works Cited List Example

Ki, Eyun-Jung. "A Measure of Relationship Cultivation Strategies." Journal of Public Relations Research, vol. 21, no. 1, 2009, pp. 1-24.

 Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. In this example only the year was given.

In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Ki 12)

Journal Article in Print - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number- Last Page Number.

Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Put a comma and the word "and" before the second author's name.

Works Cited List Example

Ki, Eyun-Jung, and Linda Childers Hon. "A Measure of Relationship Cultivation Strategies." Journal of Public Relations Research, vol. 21, no. 1, 2009, pp. 1-24.

 Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. In this example only the year was given.

In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Ki and Hon 12)

How to Cite When You Have Three or More Authors

If you have three or more authors cite only the name of the first author listed with their Last Name, First Name followed by a comma et al.

Example for In-Text & Works Cited: Smith, Christopher R., et al.

How to Cite When No Author is Listed

If no author is listed for your journal or magazine, simply skip the author entry and begin the citation with the name of the article. 

Example for In-Text & Works Cited: "The Horror." Career World, vol. 37, no. 2, p. 2, 2008. 

In-Text Citation For Two or More Authors/Editors

Number of Authors/Editors In-Text Citation Example
Two

 (Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name Page Number)

 Example: (Case and Daristotle 57)

Three or more

 (Author's Last Name et al. Page Number)

 Example: (Case et al. 57)