LibGuides: East Asian Studies Careers: Home

East Asian Studies

Africana Studies Careers
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Feb 5, 2024 0 views this year
East Asian Studies
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Dec 13, 2024 0 views this year
International Relations Careers
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Dec 13, 2024 0 views this year

Careers & Education

East Asian Studies from York University Find info about skills, career options and professional organizations (Canadian) in East Asian Studies.
Language Careers From the University of Kent, includes information on what to do with a degree in modern languages.
The Language Educator From the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages, for ACTFL members, this publication is a comprehensive source of news and information covering trends and developments in foreign language education. It addresses language teaching at all levels and administration.
Modern Language Association Career Resources The MLA regularly produces reports about academic career prospects for graduates of doctoral programs in language and literature.
Modern Languages & Literatures Careers From the University of Central Florida, a thorough overview of potential career paths for students majoring in modern languages.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Interpreters and Translators Overview of the profession from the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes information about: General nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training and qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and related occupations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: High School Teachers Overview of the profession from the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes information about: General nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training and qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and related occupations.
What Can I Do With a Major in Asian Languages & Literatures? See specifically the internships & job sites section.

American Association for Chinese Studies
American Association of Exporters and Importers AAEI, the American Association of Exporters and Importers, is the premier trade organization representing those immediately engaged in and directly impacted by developments pertaining to international trade.
The American Association of Language Specialists An international association of interpreters and translators.
American Association of Teachers of Japanese
American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese AATSP promotes the study and teaching of Hispanic, Luso-Brazilian, and other related languages, literature, and cultures through an exchange of pedagogical and scholarly information.
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages ACTFL is membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
American Foreign Service Association (AFSA) The professional association of the U.S. Foreign Service. AFSA publishes the Foreign Service Journal.
American Literary Translators Association ALTA aims to bridge cultural communication and understanding among countries and languages through the art and craft of literary translation. ALTA is the only organization in the United States dedicated solely to literary translation.
American Oriental Society
American Translators Association A professional association for translators. Their website includes a searchable online directory of translator and interpreter services.
Association for Asian Studies
Association for Japanese-Language Teaching
Chinese Language Teachers Association
CHINOPERL (Chinese Oral and Performing Literature) CHINOPERL is an organization devoted to the research, analysis and interpretation of oral and performing traditions of China.
International Language Association (ICC) UK-based, ICC is dedicated to promoting language education for people of all ages.
Japanese Society for Language Sciences
Japanese Studies Association
Linguistic Society of America
Massachusetts Foreign Language Association Members enjoy a job bank, a newsletter, and opportunities for professional growth.
Modern Language Association Founded in 1883 by teachers and scholars, the MLA promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
National Council of Less Commonly Taught Languages

Asian-Jobs.com 1000’s of jobs for bilingual/Asian-speaking professionals.
Bilingual Crossing Bilingual job reporting service that consolidates information from every possible online and printed source — including various Bilingual job boards, employer websites, different associations' websites and more.
The Boston Language Institute - Employment Opportunities A list of job openings published by the Boston Language Institute.
Chronicle Vitae Search for faculty and research jobs in higher education. Browse Humanities jobs and find positions as language faculty members
Europa Pages: International Language Job Center For job seekers who are looking for language-related employment, such as teaching, interpreting or translating.
Foreign Language Jobs in the Federal Government This site lists resources for jobs in the federal government that require foreign languages.
H-Net East Asian History/Studies Jobs
Language Magazine's JobShop JobShop is a leading source of language teaching jobs in the USA. It is updated on a regular basis and is free of charge to job seekers.
MLA Job Information List Search the Foreign Language Edition to find jobs in modern languages.
Multilingualvacancies.com Multilingualvacancies.com is an online job board solely specialising in advertising language jobs in London, across the UK, Europe and worldwide.
O-Hayo Sensei Japanese jobs.
Top Language Jobs Top Language Jobs is Europe's No. 1 specialist language recruitment job portal.

NRC Ranking of U.S. Languages, Societies and Cultures Ph.D. Programs From the Chronicle of Higher Education, this page provides data for graduate programs in Languages, Societies and Cultures from the most recent study conducted by the National Research Council.

United Nations Internship Program This page contains information on internships available throughout the United Nations system and other international organizations