Skip to main content

Chemistry: SciFinder

Resources to support the research, lab work and study of chemistry and related subjects.

Register First!

SciFinder is only available for currenty faculty, students and staff. Please use the following links to register for an account or log in. 

Step 1: Register for an account using your Simmons email.

Step 2: Login to SciFinder using the username and password you created.

Searching SciFinder

SciFinder LogoSciFinder Scholar is a discovery tool that searches the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases, which cover research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science and agricultural science.

Not only can you search topics for research articles and patent information, but you can also search for chemical structures, substructures, biological sequences and reactions.  SciFinder is linked to full-text articles through both the CAS and the other databases at Simmons.  

 

Finding articles on a research topic:

  1. Enter your research topic in the search box (e.g. the effects of human growth hormone on fetal development) and click Search.
  2. From the Research Topic Candidates list, widen or narrow your topic by checking off the different concept options.
  3. Click on Get References.
  4. Organize and narrow your search results using the Analysis and Refine options in the right-hand menu.
  5. Once you find an article, click on Full Text to search both CAS and Simmons' collection.
  6. If Simmons does not own the article, see which nearly libraries own it through WorldCat or request the article through InterLibrary Loan.

You can search by Chemical Structure, the Molecular Formula or the Substance Identifier:

 OR    (C14 H14 N2 O2)x    OR    1-(4-vinylbenzyl) thymine

  • You can analyze or refine your results using the options in the right-hand menu.

  • Hovering over the substances will bring up additional tools including Synthesize This..., Explore by Reaction and Export Image.

  • You can also get related References, Reactions, or Commerical Sources.

  • Search by drawing the Reaction and selecting Solvents, Number of Steps, etc.
     
  • You can analyze or refine your results using the options in the right-hand menu.
     
  • Selecting and viewing a reaction will give you details including Similar ReactionsSteps & Stages and Related References.

*You can get an image for the reaction search from the Explore Substances results.  Hover over the substance, choose explore by structure and then reactions.  That will import the substance directly into the reaction structure search page.

Loading

EndNote & SciFinder

  1. From the SciFinder search results page select the reference(s) you want to import to EndNote.
     
  2. Click Export.
     
  3. Selected Tagged Format (*.txt).
     
  4. Click Export, then save this file to your desktop.
     
  5. Log in to EndNote Web.
     
  6. From Collect in the top toolbar, select Import References.
     
  7. Select the reference file you just saved.  
     
  8. Select SciFinder (CAS) as the import option.
     
  9. Under To, create or select a folder you'd like to save the reference to (or choose [Unfiled]).
     
  10. Click Import.

SciFinder Tutorials

Basic Training

These SciFinder training tools offer a quick introduction to the database.

Advanced Features

Want to know more?  These videos show you how to use more advanced features of SciFinder.

Cited & Citing Articles

All the References you find will include Cited Articles (the articles the paper's authors referenced) and Citing Articles (any papers that have included the article as a reference). 

Both Cited and Citing references may give you more sources on your topic.  Cited will point towards key work in the field, and Citing will point towards current research.

Get Substances or Reactions

Did you know?

Each Reference in the Refences results list includes links to Substances and Reactions that are mentioned in that particular reference.