Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's In This Guide
Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate this guide. And remember, Help! is only a click away!
How to Use This Guide
On each page of this guide you'll find web-based and print resources, plus tips on how to get the most out of them. Many resources and topics overlap, and when you see a resource on multiple pages that means it's a versatile title.
This Getting Started page offers resources for getting to know Library and Information Science topics and concepts.
Need help? Ask a Librarian.
Want to discover everything that the library has on your topic? Try searching for your topic in Library Search, which simultaneously searches across most of the library's resources.
Getting to Know Your Topic
Are you looking for information about the context or history of your topic? Try the resources on this page for background and general information.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences
In addition to librarianship and information science, this resource covers a spectrum of related disciplines, including including: Archival Science; Bibliography; Document and Genre Theory; Informatics; Information Systems; Knowledge Management; Museum Studies; Records Management; Social Studies of Information; and much more.
Helps define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area. GVRL includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
Databases on Your Topic: Library and Information Science
Use the dropdown arrow to choose an online resource to search for more in-depth information on your topic. This list includes resources with a wide variety of content, such as journal articles, topic overviews and definitions from encyclopedias and dictionaries, and in-depth information from e-books.
Books: In-depth Information on Your Topic
Books are a great source of in-depth information on a topic. Use a simple keyword search to locate information on a particular topic. You can also look for specific books by title or for books by an individual author or browse the stacks by call number.
Recommended Web Resources
There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Library & Information Science as both a discipline and a practice. Have fun exploring!
ODLIS: Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science
What began in 1994 as a five-page handout, the Dictionary of Library and Information Science soon was expanded and converted to electronic format. The Dictionary's content has been carefully selected and includes terms from publishing, printing, literature, and computer science where, in the author's judgment, they are relevant to both library professionals and laypersons. The primary criterion for including a new term is whether library and information science professionals might reasonably be expected to encounter it at some point in their career, or be required to know its meaning.
A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology
Published by SAA in 2005 as one of seven volumes in the Archival Fundamentals Series II, the Glossary contains more than 2,000 defined entries, more than 600 lead-in terms, nearly 700 citations from some 280 sources, and is based primarily on archival literature in the United States and Canada.
Glossary | Digital Curation
To help you get to grips with some of the common terminology used, the DCC has compiled a handy digital curation glossary. Take a moment to read through any unfamiliar terms below before navigating our digital library of resources to find out all about digital curation and data preservation.
Studies in Bibliography
Founded in 1948, Studies in Bibliography is the pre-eminent journal of analytical bibliography, textual criticism, manuscript study, and the history of printing and publishing.
Meet Your Librarian
, Behavior Analysis
, Computer Science
, Gender/Cultural Studies
, Health Care Administration
, Health Informatics
, Library & Information Science
, Women's & Gender Studies
Helpful Simmons Resources