Skip to main content

NURS 249/334: Home

This guide provides resources for students in NURS 249 and NURS 334

Welcome

Welcome!  This course guide provides information and resources for writing an annotated bibliography.

Check out the Nursing Research Guide for more tips and resources.

Contact the Library

There are many ways to contact the library!
 

  Chat

You can chat with a librarian any time the Library is open (see our hours page for more information).
 

  Email

reference@simmons.edu

You can email us any time.  We'll get back to you as soon as possible.
 

  Phone

617-521-2784

You can call us any time.  If you don't get an answer right away, leave a message and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.
 

  Make an Appointment

You can also schedule an appointment with a librarian for one-on-one help.  Click the calendar icon above or the book now icon on the right side of the screen.

What Is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Source: Cornell University Library

Finding Articles

Not sure where to start?  This interactive tutorial will walk you through how to search for articles on your topic.

Interactive CINAHL Tutorial

Online Citation Tools

This is a selection of other citation generators & tools that can help you create citations and manage bibliographies. 

Remember, though, that no online citation generator is 100% accurate.  Be sure to check your citations to make sure that they're correct! 

Information on APA Style

Citation Tools

The Cite Button

The majority of the Library's e-resources can generate a single citation for you.

Places to look for the Cite Button or other Citation Tools in E-Resources:

  • The right-hand menu on the article abstract page.
  • At the top of the results list.
  • Immediately under each citation in the results list.
  • At the very bottom of an article or article abstract page.

Subject Guide

Lauren Buckley's picture
Lauren Buckley
Contact:
Click "book now" to schedule a research appointment with me!
617-521-2781
Subjects:Health Sciences

The Writing Center

The Writing Center provides one-on-one tutoring, workshops and presentations to strengthen your academic reading, writing, critical thinking and research skills.  

The Writing Center website also includes many helpful resources, including: