LibGuides: Africana Studies: Find Resources

INTERNET RESOURCES

Black History Month Library - Google Drive Created by Charles Alexander Preston, the Google Drive Library contains free pdfs, ebooks, and videos.
#blacklivesmatter library, teaching, activism, and community resource list
MIT Black History Archive The MIT Black History Project began in 1995 with the goal of documenting the role of Black life at MIT since the Institute’s founding in 1861. These multiple roles have evolved over time and even exceeded those realized at many historically prestigious predominantly white institutions of higher learning. The Project’s continuing objective is to research and disseminate a varied set of materials that shed light on this rich, significant legacy
The Yvonne Pappenheim Library on Racism The Yvonne Pappenheim Library is a free lending library of materials about racism and white privilege in the United States. You can search the online catalog or stop by the library which is located in Boston.
African-American Migration Experience “The website is organized around thirteen defining migrations that have formed and transformed African America and the nation. Each migration is presented through five units: a narrative, about 100 illustrations with captions and bibliographical information, from twenty to forty research resources consisting of essays, books, book chapters, articles, and manuscripts, maps, and lesson plans.” There is extensive material covering all migrations of African-Americans from the initial transatlantic slave trade through the return south migration, along with African immigration. All in-text cited articles appear to offer full-text accessibility. The site can be viewed in non-flash version and is fully searchable.
African Web Links: An Annotated Resource List Portal to many different topics and web links.
African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection “African American Perspectives” gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture from the early 19th through the early 20th centuries, with the bulk of the material published between 1875 and 1900. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, and Emanuel Love.
African Studies Centre Founded in 1947, the African Studies Centre (ASC) is an independent research institute that specializes in research on Africa in the social sciences and disseminates knowledge of African societies and cultures in the Netherlands. The ASC has a research department and a library, documentation and information department. Its library collection focuses entirely on Africa – both North Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa – and is the most extensive and specialized collection on Africa in the Netherlands.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Major resource from the New York Public Library.
African Studies Another portal of excellent information on conducting research in African Studies.
Criminalizing Survival: A Resource of Curricula and Activities This new resource includes curriculum units and activities that can be used for political education focused on the intersections between racialized gender-based violence and criminalization. Some of the activities also address the problems of carceral feminisms and crimmigration.
The Green Book Digital Archive The Jewish press has long published information about places that are restricted and there are numerous publications that give the gentile whites all kinds of information. But during these long years of discrimination, before 1936 other guides have been published for the Negro, some are still published, but the majority have gone out of business for various reasons
The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) Digital Gateway This documentary website tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change that empowered the Black community and transformed the nation. The SNCC Digital Gateway portrays how SNCC, alongside thousands of local Black residents, worked for Black people to take control of their political and economic lives. It also unveils the inner workings of SNCC as an organization, examining how it coordinated sit-ins and freedom schools, voter registration and economic cooperatives, anti-draft protests and international solidarity struggles.

JOURNALS

Black Music Research Journal Black Music Research Journal includes articles about the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music. BMRJ is an official journal of the Center for Black Music Research and is published by the University of Illinois Press.
Journal of Black Studies Articles containing full analytical discussion of economic, political, sociological, historical, literary and philosophical issues related to persons of African descent.
African and Black Diaspora: An International Journal Publishes articles on the study of the deterritorialised and transnational nature of the African and Black Diaspora.
The Black Scholar Presents African-American essays on a broad range of issues of concern to scholars in sociology, history, literature, political science, health, art, women's studies and ethnic studies.
Black Issues in Higher Edcuation Articles, news, and, reviews about issues in Afro-American education.
The Western Journal of Black Studies Publishes articles that report original investigations & contribute new knowledge & understanding to the field of Black/African American studies.
Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture, and Society Maps the intellectual contours of the contemporary Black experience: the various ideological debates, politics, culture, & recent history of African American people.
The Journal of Black Psychology Articles, review articles and book reviews focusing on psychology and understanding experiences and behavior of Black populations.

BLACK HISTORY@SIMMONS

This exhibit presents an overview of the experience of the black students who attended Simmons College and the impact their presence had on the institution, most significantly, perhaps, through the promotion and provoking of conversation, reflection, and change.

LOOKING FOR YOUR CLASS?

KEY DATABASES

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law Why search here? Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials, commentary, pamphlets and books on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.What's included? This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
America: History & Life plus Full Text Why search here? America: History and Life is a user-friendly database that contains abstracts from articles, media and book reviews, and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.What's included? It includes journals that go back to 1964, as well as English abstracts of foreign language articles.
HistoryMakers Why search here? HistoryMakers is the largest African American video oral history archive.What's included? With over 9,000 hours (2,800 interviews) of unique content, the HistoryMakers Digital Archive features videotaped first person testimony of both well-known and unsung African Americans recorded across the United States as well as places like Norway, Mexico and the Caribbean. Interviews are housed permanently at the Library of Congress.
- This link opens in a new window

African American History Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.

JSTOR Why search here? JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.What's included? Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
Historical Abstracts plus Full Text Why search here? Historical Abstracts provides information on world history (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History & Life.) Topics include military, education and women's history from 1450 to the present.What's included? Indexing of 1,800 academic historical journal articles in over 40 languages dating back to 1955.
Art Full Text Why search here? This resource covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more.What's included? The coverage in this resource is international and also includes articles in full-color PDF format.
Kanopy Why search here? Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos across a wide variety of subject areas. Kanopy also provides access to classic Hollywood and foreign films from the Criterion Collection.What's included? Thousands of videos in the Humanities, Education, the Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications and more are available for the Library to license for courses. Faculty - to obtain a video for your class, submit a reserves request. Kanopy might load a page asking the user to either create a Kanopy account or “Skip” to start watching. Users should select the "Skip" button, and do not need to create their own account to view videos.
- This link opens in a new window

Africa Today Since 1954, Africa Today has been at the forefront in publishing Africanist, reform-minded research. Africa Today provides access to the best scholarly work from around the world on a full range of political, economic, and social issues.
AfricaBib.org contains the Africana Periodical Literature Database, African Women Bibliographic Database, and links to several other very useful indexes.
African Studies Centre Database of abstracts of books and articles on all aspects of Africa in the social sciences, from the Netherlands-based research center.

Academic Search Ultimate Why search here? Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. What's included? It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
SocINDEX with Full Text Why search here? SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database.What's included? Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.
Project MUSE Why search here? Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.What's included? Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.

ZINES IN OUR COLLECTION

Back to nappy : guide to beautifully regressing to natural hair by Roechelle Adair
Call Number: Zines HLP .B33 2015
Publication Date: 2015
This zine talks about the politics of chemically treated hair for black women and provides resources on transitioning back to natural hair. Also includes tips on caring for natural hair, natural hair food recipes, and hair styling/training techniques.
Black women & self care : thoughts on mental health, oppression & healing by Naomi Moyer
Call Number: Zines HLM .B53 2015
Publication Date: 2015
This zine focuses on mental health specifically for black women and covers topics like depression, PTSD, and connections between white supremacy, oppression and mental health as they affect women of color. Sections discuss the role that cultural stereotypes (like the Angry Black Woman) have negative effects on self-image.
(H)afrocentric : the comic by illustrated by John R. Mathis ; written by Juliana "Jewels" Smith
Call Number: Zines CMA .H34 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Comic that addresses race, class, gender and sexuality issues through dialogue

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Linda Schuller

Email Me

Contact:

E-111

617.521.2767

Subjects: Africana Studies, Behavior Analysis, Business, Communications, East Asian Studies, Economics, Education, French, Health Care Administration, Health Informatics, History, International Relations, Library & Information Science, Political Science, Psychology, Spanish