Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career Education Center
The Career Education Center helps undergraduate students, graduate students and alumnae/i develop the skills and knowledge they need to make informed decisions about their careers in preparation for life's work.
Location: Center for Student Success
Lefavour Building, Ground Floor
Hours: Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Mon - Thu: 2pm - 3:30pm
Career coaches are available at other times by appointment.
Recommended Web Resources
There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find career information. Hover your mouse over the links to find out what they contain. Have fun exploring!
"The smart woman's online career resource. Our mission is to help you achieve career satisfaction by providing the information, support and tools you need to succeed in today's competitive economy." This website focuses on your entire career and the choices you make along the way, from job changes to entrepreneurship to personal life, including stress management, career planning, resume writing and more.
Careeranista was created for young women seeking information and products to better position themselves for success. The website offers articles on a range of work-life topics; profiles of both seasoned professionals and rising stars that you can learn from to get to the next level in your career; expert advice from HR professionals addressing your funny and not-so-funny work-life conundrums; and personal essays by women on the challenges they’ve faced in their search for a healthy work-life.
CareerOneStop is the suite of web-based products funded and developed by the U.S. Department of Labor. CareerOneStop includes America's Career InfoNet and America's Service Locator. Each product offers unique solutions for the increasing demands of today's labor market to meet the specialized needs of job seekers, employers, and the workforce and education communities.
CollegeBoard Career Browser
From the College Board Online, this site includes descriptions of hundreds of occupations (including training and education requirements and salary expectations) and a career questionnaire that can help you to narrow your choices to something you would enjoy.
Internet Resources for Career Planning
From the National Career Development Association, these links include many resources, services, and tools that can assist users in exploring careers, planning for the future, searching for employment, and finding the additional training necessary to pursue a dream. Most of these resources are free, and several were developed in countries other than the United States.
JobStar Career Guides
JobStar aggregates subject-based career guides, which include information about education and training, earnings, work environment and more. Some sites include personal stories from people working in the field: how did they move (or stumble) into their current work situation? What advice would they give newcomers?
Major Resource Kits
From the University of Delaware, Major Resource Kits link academic majors to career alternatives by providing information on career paths, sample job titles and more. It also includes a bibliography of materials available in Delaware's library. If there's a title you're interested in, check the library catalog to see if Simmons has it!
Massachusetts One-Stop Career Centers
Job seekers and workers can access a variety of job assistance services, including working with experienced career counselors, attending workshops and short-term training, accessing up-to-date local, statewide and national job listings, using a PC to hunt for jobs, develop your resume, write cover letters, and more.
My Next Move
Created by the National Center for O*Net Development for the USDOL Employment and Training Administration, this is an interactive tool where job seekers and students can learn more about their career options. The site has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers.
The O*NET database contains information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated and information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this handbook includes information on hundreds of different types of jobs, including: the training and education needed; earnings; expected job prospects; what workers do on the job; and working conditions.
Princeton Review Careers After College
One offering here is an extensive database of careers which you can search or browse. If you are willing to register and create a free account, you can try their free five minute career quiz to be matched with suggested options. They also have a feature to match your college major with careers.
The Career Project
The career project.org is an interactive career profile database that helps you research thousands of real careers and jobs through the eyes of the people who work them. Begin your career research with career profiles, informational interviews, career salary information and job profile descriptions.