LGBTQ+ SourceWhy search here?
This full-text database (formerly LGBT Life with Full Text) contains all of the same content available in LGBT Life, as well as full text resources for the most important and historically significant information regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, and Ally issues.What's included?
More than 600 abstracted and indexed journals and books, 140 full-text journals, 160 full-text books, and the LGBT Thesaurus.
KanopyWhy search here?
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos across a wide variety of subject areas. Kanopy also provides access to classic Hollywood and foreign films from the Criterion Collection.What's included?
Thousands of videos in the Humanities, Education, the Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications and more are available for the Library to license for courses. Faculty - to obtain a video for your class, submit a reserves request.
Kanopy might load a page asking the user to either create a Kanopy account or “Skip” to start watching. Users should select the "Skip" button, and do not need to create their own account to view videos.
Sage DataWhy search here?
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) is a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics that allows users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts, including descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.What's included?
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) incorporates the content of Sage Stats and US Political Stats Datasets and covers a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Digest of Education StatisticsA compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from pre-k through graduate school.
EDSTATSData from a variety of national and international sources and provides information on key education topics.
Lost Opportunity: A 50 State Report on the Opportunity to LearnA state-by-state comparison of both academic proficiency (as illustrated by the percentage of students scoring at or above proficient on the eighth grade National Assessment of Educational Progress - NAEP reading exam) and access to high-performing schools.
Education at a Glance 2018Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators is the authoritative source for accurate information on the state of education around the world. It provides data on the output of educational institutions; the impact of learning across countries; the financial and human resources invested in education; access, participation and progression in education; and the learning environment and organisation of schools.
The 2015 edition introduces more detailed analysis of participation in early childhood and tertiary levels of education. The report also examines first generation tertiary-educated adults’ educational and social mobility, labour market outcomes for recent graduates, and participation in employer-sponsored formal and/or non-formal education. Readiness to use information and communication technology for problem solving in teaching and learning is also examined. The publication provides indicators on the impact of skills on employment and earnings, gender differences in education and employment, and teacher and school leader appraisal systems. The report covers all 34 OECD countries and a number of partner countries (Argentina, Brazil, China, Colombia, India, Indonesia, Latvia, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia and South Africa, and for the first time, Costa Rica and Lithuania).
The Excel™ spreadsheets used to create the tables and charts in Education at a Glance are available via the StatLinks provided throughout the publication.
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, and U.S. history.
The School District Demographics SystemThe Education Demographic and Geographic Estimates (EDGE) program develops information resources to identify and understand the social and spatial context of education in the U.S. It uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau’s American Community Survey to create custom indicators of social, economic, and housing conditions for school-age children and their parents. It also uses spatial data collected by NCES and the Census Bureau to create geographic locale indicators, school point locations, school district boundaries, and other types of educational geography to support spatial analysis.
30+ iPad apps for students with special needsWe have arranged the apps into four main categories: apps for dyslexic learners, apps for autistic learners, apps for the visually impaired and apps for learners with writing difficulties
COOL ONLINE RESOURCES
Teachers - Library of CongressIn addition to primary source sets, themed resources, and collection connections, the Library of Congress also provides professional development tools for teachers here.
Teachers DomainProvides lesson plans and multimedia resources (documents, images, video, audio, and interactive presentations) for K-12 teachers.
Learner.orgTeacher resources and teacher professional development programming across the curriculum made available through Annenberg Media.
Teaching ToleranceThe website is packed with classroom activities and lessons to help K-12 teachers develop inclusive school communities. As an educator you can sign up to get free magazine subscriptions, or, browse the archives of their award-winning magazine from the current issue back to 1996.