LibGuides: Nutrition: Articles on Your Topic

Searching the Literature

The resources on this page are recommended for when you need to find evidence-based research literature and other types of articles for literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, and other projects. You'll also find search and evaluation strategies to help you find the best articles for your topic.

Interactive CINAHL tutorial

Not sure where to start? This interactive tutorial will walk you through how to search for articles.

Databases for Health Sciences

Recommended Databases for Nutrition

CINAHL Complete
Provides authoritative coverage of the literature in the nursing and allied health fields. Over 1,200 English-language nursing and allied health journals are included.

CINAHL Complete provides full text access to hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, plus books and evidence-based care sheets. The database covers over 5,000 journals with extensive indexing. Content includes clinical innovations, patient care protocols, and healthcare management. This resource is crucial for nursing education, research, and clinical practice.
Medline
Provides access to articles about biomedical, health, and biological topics. Medline includes "authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more."

Medline indexes approximately 5,000 of the world's leading biomedical journals. Coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, and healthcare systems. Content emphasizes peer-reviewed research and clinical studies. This database is fundamental for health sciences research and evidence-based practice.
PubMed
Search more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publishers, and the Simmons Library Article Now! button.

PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources. Content includes links to full-text articles through various platforms. The database is updated daily with new research. This resource is essential for medical research, healthcare practice, and life sciences study.
Scopus
Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.

Scopus Index tracks and analyzes global research across sciences, mathematics, and humanities. The database includes content from thousands of journals and publishers worldwide. Features include citation analysis and author metrics. This tool supports research evaluation and scholarly literature discovery.

Browse Databases
This will take you to a list of Simmons Databases, organized alphabetically or by topic.

How to link Google Scholar to the Simmons Library

1. Open Google Scholar.

2. Click on the Settings link at the top of the Google Scholar page.

3. On the Scholar Settings page, click Library Links in the left sidebar.

4. Enter Simmons University into the search bar and click search.

5. If prompted, check Simmons University - Check Simmons Full Text.

6. Click Save at the bottom of the screen.

Other Cool Things You Can Do with Google Scholar

Google Scholar also has some tools that can help with your research. Below most references, you'll see several links:

Click on the Cited by... link to see other articles that have cited this one. This can help you find additional articles on the same topic.

Click on the Cite button to get the full citation in five different citation styles (including APA). You can also use this link to export references to EndNote or another citation manager.

What is Peer-Review?

"Peer review is the process through which professional abstracts, proposals, grants, manuscripts, and practice are examined by a team of qualified reviewers who determine the quality of the work product in relation to current knowledge in that field."

- Nursing Leadership

PDF or Click Here for Full Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either:

Both of these will take you to the article (if we have access).

If you see the Access Options screen below, it means we don't have full-text access to the article. Try Google Scholar first to see if it's available for free. If not, click Request via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get the article for you from another library, usually within a few days.

Trust It or Trash It?

Trust It or Trash It? is a free online tool that helps you evaluate health information sources.

Trust It or Trash It? was created by The Genetic Alliance.

Searching Tips

Keywords are...

A good way to start a search.
The important concepts in your own words.
Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
Very flexible.

Connecting concepts...

Join similar ideas or alternate term with "OR."
Link different parts of your topic with "AND."
Exclude concepts with "NOT."

Limit to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly articles...

This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals.
Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.

Narrow the Date Range...

When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.

Still not finding anything? Ask a Librarian!