LibGuides: Nutrition: Getting Started

What's In This Guide

Search for Streaming Video

Web Resources

Nutrition Facts A nonprofit organization that created video-based explanations of peer-reviewed scientific literature. The site also includes links to the articles in PubMed.
MedlinePlus This is a consumer health resource from the National Institutes of Health. It includes patient-friendly, current information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.
Healthy People A 10-year national program for improving the health of all Americans. Use this resource to find clinical recommendations, evidence-based interventions and data from nationally representative sample surveys.
America's Health Rankings A comprehensive perspective on our national health issues, state by state. The 2010 Rankings features an interactive map where you can explore statistics and compare states side-by-side.
National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health NCCIH is the lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. NCCIH was formerly known as the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.
PHP Partners Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources.
Harvard Food Law and Policy Clinic Works with nonprofit organizations and government agencies to recommend food laws and policies aimed at increasing access to healthy foods and assisting small farmers and producers in participating in food markets.
e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions (eLENA) The WHO e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions (eLENA) is an online library of evidence-informed guidance for nutrition interventions. It is a single point of reference for the latest nutrition guidelines, recommendations and related information including supporting materials such as scientific evidence, background materials and commentaries from invited experts.

Dietary Guidelines

Dietary Guidelines for Americans
The DGA provide advice for making food choices that promote good health, advocate a healthy weight, and help prevent disease. The DGA are for healthy Americans age 2 and older and are revised every 5 years.

How to Use This Guide

On each page of this guide you'll find web-based and print resources, plus tips on how to get the most out of them. Many resources and topics overlap, and when you see a resource on multiple pages that means it's a versatile title.

This Getting Started page offers resources for getting to know Nutrition topics and concepts.

Need help? Ask a Librarian.

Library Search

Search articles, journals, books, media, and more

Getting to Know Your Topic

Credo Reference
Helps define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.

ADA nutrition care manual
NCM is consistent with the ADA’s Evidence Analysis Library, ADA position papers, and the Nutrition Care Process. It includes research- and evidence-based nutrition care information for more than 100 diseases, conditions, and topics.

Stat!Ref
Includes the Merck Manual, AAFP Conditions, Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care, Therapeutics Exercise, multiple Nursing Procedures & Guidelines and the ICD-9-CM & ICD-10 Worktext and Converters. Also provides a medical calculator, Stedman's Medical Dictionary and links to practice guidelines.

Food and Nutrition Information Center
Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
International Food Information Council
Provides up-to-date information about timely issues (such as food safety), clear explanations of nutrition concepts and definitions, and dietary guidance, along with a great deal of other information suited for nutrition professionals and consumers.
Nutrient Data Laboratory
Home to the USDA National Nutrient Database; the authoritative food composition database. The Lab's mission is to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods and dietary supplements.

Databases for Health Sciences

Meet Your Librarian

Jen Goldberg

Email Me

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Health Professions Education, Mathematics, Nutrition, Physical Therapy, Physics, Public Health

Guiding Questions

Guiding Questions

Helpful Simmons Resources

Simmons Connection Your portal to services, resources, and people here at Simmons.
The Writing Center
Simmons Moodle Get to the online content for your courses, including course reserves, here.
Center for Hygiene and Health in the Home and Community
Get Help Are you stuck? Talk with a librarian to come up with strategies to get unstuck.

Nutrition: Getting Started