Skip to main content

Doctoral Studies: Finding Articles

This guide is designed to assist doctoral students in their research and thesis, dissertation or capstone projects

E-Resources for All Doctoral Students

We've grouped our article databases by subject, so that you can quickly find resources on your topic.  Keep in mind that many databases are interdisciplinary and are worth exploring even if they aren't on your subject's list.

These are a few databases and resource guides that will be useful for all subject areas:

By Topic

Arts & Humanities

 

Business & Management

 

Education

 

Health Sciences

 

Library & Information Science

 

Natural Sciences

 

Social Sciences

 

Social Work

Searching Tips

Keywords are...

  • A good way to start a search.
  • The important concepts in your own words.
  • Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
  • Very flexible.


Connecting concepts...

  • Join similar ideas or alternate terms with "OR."
  • Link different parts of your topic with "AND."
  • Exclude concepts with "NOT."

Limit to Peer-Reviewed, Referred or Scholarly articles...

  • This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals.  Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.

Narrow the Date Range...

  • When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.

Still not finding anything?  Ask a Librarian!

Citation Searching

Did you know?

Resources like Web of Science and Google Scholar will show you cited and citing references for any article you find in them. 

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...

 or  Find Full-Text green button

Both of these will take you to the article!

 

Click the Find Full-Text button and a new tab or window will open. In this tab, your article will load automatically. You will also see a YELLOW ribbon with a link saying "Go To Full Text Finder Results"--click the link if the article doesn't load on its own.

Link Google Scholar to Simmons Library Resources

 

Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically, and then links to articles from those sources when they're available. Once you configure the Library Links settings in Google Scholar, links to the full text of articles will display in your Google Scholar results when they are available through Simmons Library.

Use Google Scholar From On-Campus

      To make these links appear, just access Google Scholar from any Simmons computer and the links will automatically be included.

Configure Google Scholar From Off-Campus

  1. Click on Settings link in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
  2. Choose "Library Links" on the left, type Simmons Library and click the "Search" button.
  3. If prompted, check "Simmons College - Check Simmons Full Text" and "Simmons College - Cengage Gale Full Text" from the list of results.
  4. Click the blue "Save" button.
  5. Start searching Google Scholar with links to our library's resources (you may need to log in to access these resources).

 

Keyword Search Strategies

Identify good keywords to use in your search by thinking about the main ideas inherent in your topic.

Consider using synonyms of your keywords to help find even more information. For example, if you are looking for articles about the benefits of a womens college, you might use the keywords and synonyms below:

Keywords Synonyms 1 Synonyms 2
women single sex female
education college school
benefit advantage leverage