LibGuides: Environmental Science: Articles on your topic

Library Databases

Environment Complete
- Why search here?
  This resource provides deep subject coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
- What's included?
  Contains full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, along with full text for such relevant monographs as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History and Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management.
GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  GreenFILE offers scholarly, government and general-interest titles on all aspects of the human impact on the environment,including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- What's included?
  The database provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of records, and provides Open Access full text for some of these.
SciFinder Scholar
- Why search here?
  SciFinder Scholar searches the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases, which cover research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science and agricultural science. You must create an account to use this service.
- What's included?
  References from nearly 9,500 currently published journals and patents from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities.
- Create account
  Creating an account is required. Create an account with your Simmons email address.
Note: In order to use SciFinder Scholar you need to first setup a personal login
Step 1: Create Your SciFinder Scholar Account: Click Here. You must use your Simmons University email address when setting up your new account.
Step 2: Login To SciFinder Scholar: Here
Scopus Index
- Why search here?
  Keep track of what's happening in the research world. Across all research fields—science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities—Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.
- What's included?
  Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books.

Open Access Directory - Earth and Environmental Science
Identify electronic journals in the field of Environmental Science that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost.

Academic Search Ultimate
- Why search here?
  Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
- What's included?
  It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.

Searching Tips

Keywords are:

A good place to start research
The important concepts in your own words
Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.)
Very flexible

Connecting Concepts:

Join similar ideas or alternate terms with "OR" to broaden search.
Link different parts of your topic with "AND" to narrow down search
Exclude concepts with "NOT"

Limit to Peer-Reviewed, Refereed or Scholarly articles:

This is the part of the publication and editorial process for academic and research articles. Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts of interest, and is fair and objective.

Narrow the Date Range:

When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.

Still not finding anything? Ask a Librarian!

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either:

Both of these will take you to the article (if we have access).

If you see the Access Options screen below, it means we don't have full-text access to the article. Try Google Scholar first to see if it's available for free. If not, click Request via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get the article for you from another library, usually within a few days.