Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested History Internship Opportunities
Information about setting up your internship will be provided by your course instructors.
Adams National Historic Park
Contact: Kelly Cobble
Description: These are mostly unpaid internships in the areas of history, museum, and archives. Occasionally Step Appointment opportunities arise which are student paid positions.
Note: These internship and step appointments do not get posted to the Adams website. But you can contact Kelly directly to discuss opportunities.
The Bostonian Society
Contact: Adele Barbato
Phone: (617) 720-1713 x10
Description: The Bostonian Society is committed to promoting Boston’s history, which all people of greater Boston share in common, and to fostering an understanding of and respect among the city’s culturally diverse citizens.
Contact: Dr. Stephen Kenney
Phone: (617) 727-9268
Description: The Museum puts together presentations that showcase the history of Massachusetts; it has collections, hosts various exhibits and field trips and provides teacher and students resources.
Historic New England (HNE)
Contact: Jennifer Pustz
Phone: (617) 227-3956
Description: Historic New England is a museum of cultural history which collects and preserves buildings, landscapes, and objects dating from the seventeenth century to the present and uses them to keep history alive and to help people develop a deeper understanding and enjoyment of New England life and appreciation for its preservation.
Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
Phone: (617) 566-1401
Description: Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum has been opened in 1903 and has remained virtually unchanged since its founder's death in 1924. The galleries are filled with paintings, sculpture, tapestries, furniture, and decorative arts from cultures spanning thirty centuries.
Contact: Visit the library's website for opportunity specific contact information.
Phone: (617) 514-1541
Description: The purpose of the Library is to advance the study and understanding of President Kennedy's life and career and the times in which he lived. It preservers and makes accessible the records of President Kennedy, encourages open discourse on critical issues of our times and educates citizen in order to become active participants in the nation's future.
Contact: Jim Shea
Phone: (617) 876-4491
Description: Longfellow National Historic Site preserves the home of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, one of the world’s foremost 19th century poets. It provides exhibits, tours and resources for students and students interested in Longfellow's life and writings.
Louisa May Alcott House (Orchard House)
Phone: (978) 369-4118
Description: Louisa May Alcott House (Orchard House) is a museum in Concord MA, home of the author of Little Women.
Massachusetts Historical Society
Contact: Elaine Grublin
Phone: (617) 646-0509
Description: The Massachusetts Historical Society is an independent research library and manuscript repository. Its holdings encompass millions of rare and unique documents and artifacts vital to the study of American history.
Museum of African American History
Contact: Amber Moore
Phone: 617-725-0022 x29
Description: The Museum is New England’s largest dedicated to preserving, conserving and interpreting the contributions of African Americans.
Museum of Fine Arts
Contact: Herbert Jones, Volunteer & Intern Coordinator
Description: MFA internships are available in the fall, spring, and summer in several areas including curatorial, development, public relations, publications, intellectual property, museum learning, retail operations, information services, and human resources. These are unpaid internships.
National Council For Preservation Education
Contact: See website for specific contact details.
Description: A listing of preservation-related summer internship opportunities with the National Park Service, US Navy, Department of Defense, General Services Administration & US Fish and Wildlife Service. From Cornell University's PreserveNet website.
Old Sturbridge Village
Contact: Personnel Department
Description: Old Sturbridge Village Museum's purpose is to provide modern Americans with a deepened understanding of their own times through a personal encounter with New England's past. Its collections, exhibits, and programs present the story of everyday life in a small New England town during the years 1790 to 1840.
Otis House Museum
Contact: Jennifer Pustz
Phone: (617) 227-3956
Description: Harrison Gray Otis made a fortune developing nearby Beacon Hill, served as a Representative in Congress and later was Mayor of Boston. He and his wife Sally were noted for their frequent and lavish entertaining. The Otis House also houses Historic New England's headquarters, its Library and Archives, and a museum shop with books, reproductions, and gifts. Walking tours of Beacon Hill and o
Paul Revere House
Contact: Kristin Peszka
Phone: (617) 523-2338
Description: On the night of April 18, 1775, silversmith Paul Revere left his small wooden home in Boston's North End and set out on a journey that would make him into a legend. Today that home is still standing at 19 North Square and has become a national historic landmark. It is downtown Boston's oldest building and one of the few remaining from an early era in the history of colonial America.
Peabody Essex Museum
Contact: Rosario Ubiera-Minaya
Phone: (978)-745-9500 x.3017
Description: The Peabody Essex Museum has an impressive collection of art exhibitions and collections and a number of programs and events that highlight the cultural treasures in and around Peabody.
Contact: Denise Brouillette Nichols
Phone: (508) 746-1622, ext. 8203
Description: There are many internship opportunities at the Plimoth Planation offered from the following departments: Colonial Wardrobe and Textiles, Curatorial, Development, Education, Farm, Horticultural, Marine, Media and Production, Membership, Public Relations, Web, and the Wampanoag Program.
Description: Cornell University's listing of US-wide internship opportunities in the preservation industry and allied fields.
USS Constitution Museum
Phone: (617) 426-1812
Description: The USS Constitution Museum reaches out to all Americans with the story of one of our country's most cherished icons.
General Humanities Internship Sites
Get Help from a Career Counselor
Career Education Center
Location: Center for Student Success
Lefavour Building, Ground Floor
Hours: Mon-Fri: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Drop-in hours: Mon - Thu: 2pm - 3:30pm
For Personalized Career Assistance:
Schedule an appointment: 617.521.2488
Career Education Center Website