Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching the Literature
The resources on this page are recommended for when you need to find evidence-based research literature and other types of articles for literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, and other projects. You'll also find search and evaluation strategies to help you find the best articles for your topic.
Interactive APA PsycINFO tutorial
- A good way to start a search.
- The important concepts in your own words.
- Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
- Very flexible.
- Join similar ideas or alternate terms with "OR."
- Link different parts of your topic with "AND."
- Exclude concepts with "NOT."
Limit to Peer-Reviewed, Referred or Scholarly articles...
- This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals. Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.
Narrow the Date Range...
- When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.
Still not finding anything? Ask a Librarian!
Below is an example to demonstrate how the main concepts from a research topic or question become keywords and how synonyms or related terms can broaden your search:
Now that you've created your list of keywords, you will need to combine them using BOOLEAN operators (AND and OR):
Databases for Social Work
Recommended E-Resources for Social Work
A comprehensive international database of psychology covering over 1,900 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. These publications include academic, research and practice literature.
Learn by doing: Interactive Tutorial
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), users can search this collection of full-text, peer-reviewed articles by psychology-related categories including methodologies, classification codes, and population groups.
SocINDEX with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database; provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, and includes over 10,000 author profiles.
Provides authoritative coverage of the literature in the nursing and allied health fields. Over 1,200 English-language nursing and allied health journals are included.
Cochrane Library with Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Search more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publishers, and the Simmons Library Article Now! button.
PDF vs. Find Full-Text
When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...
Both of these will take you to the article!
Click the Find Full-Text button and a new tab or window will open. In this tab, your article will load automatically. You will also see a YELLOW ribbon with a link saying "Go To Full Text Finder Results"--click the link if the article doesn't load on its own.
Keyword Generator (University of Texas)