Skip to main content

Health Professions Education for Doctoral Students: Articles on Your topic

This guide is designed to assist HPED doctoral students in their research and dissertations.

Searching the Literature

The resources on this page are recommended for when you need to find evidence-based research literature and other types of articles for literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, and other projects.  You'll also find search and evaluation strategies to help you find the best articles for your topic.

Interactive CINAHL tutorial

Not sure where to start?  This interactive tutorial will walk you through how to search for articles.

Keyword Search Strategies

Brainstorming Keywords

Identify good keywords to use in your search by thinking about the main ideas inherent in your topic.

Consider using synonyms of your keywords to help find even more information. For example, if you are looking for articles about the benefits of online education, you might use the keywords and synonyms below:

 Keywords  Synonyms 1  Synonyms 2
  online   virtual   distance
  education   college   school
  benefit   advantage   leverage

 

Searching for Keywords

Creating a grid like the one above can also help you enter your keywords when you're searching in the databases.  

Put each distinct concept (online, education, and benefit) on a separate line with AND in between, which will only give you results that mention all three of these concepts.  

Then add each set of synonyms to the same line and type the word "or" in between.  

For the keywords in the example above, your search boxes would look something like this:

screenshot of keywords entered in a database

Citation Searching

Did you know?

Screenshot of Cited By link in Google Scholar

When you find a relevant article, you can use resources like Google ScholarWeb of Science, and Scopus to see other articles that have cited the original one.

Check out the Searching Citation Indices guide for more information about citation searching.

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...

 or  Find Full-Text green button

Both of these will take you to the article (if we have access).

If you see the Access Options screen below, it means we don't have full-text access to the article.  Try Google Scholar first to see if it's available for free.  If not, click Request via Interlibrary Loan.  We'll get the article for you from another library, usually within a few days.

By Topic

Arts & Humanities

 

Business & Management

 

Education

 

Health Sciences

 

Library & Information Science

 

Natural Sciences

 

Social Sciences

 

Social Work

Link Google Scholar to Simmons Library Resources

 

Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically, and then links to articles from those sources when they're available. Once you configure the Library Links settings in Google Scholar, links to the full text of articles will display in your Google Scholar results when they are available through Simmons Library.

Use Google Scholar From On-Campus

      To make these links appear, just access Google Scholar from any Simmons computer and the links will automatically be included.

Configure Google Scholar From Off-Campus

  1. Click on Settings link in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
  2. Choose "Library Links" on the left, type Simmons Library and click the "Search" button.
  3. If prompted, check "Simmons College - Check Simmons Full Text" and "Simmons College - Cengage Gale Full Text" from the list of results.
  4. Click the blue "Save" button.
  5. Start searching Google Scholar with links to our library's resources (you may need to log in to access these resources).