LibGuides: Students with Disabilities Career Resources: Home

Resources & Support at Simmons

Simmons Health and Wellness Resources Working in close collaboration with student support services like the Health Center, On-Campus Nutritionist, Violence Prevention and Education, Counseling Services, Athletics, and Spiritual Life, we have your health and wellness needs covered.
Simmons Office of Accessibility Services Simmons is committed to providing support services and reasonable accommodations when requested by students who qualify for them.
The Tutoring Center The Tutoring Center provides individual tutoring, and in some cases small group tutoring, in math, chemistry, biology, nutrition, nursing, economics, accounting, Spanish, Italian, Chinese, and more!
The Writing Center The Writing Center provides one-on-one tutoring, workshops, and presentations to strengthen your academic reading, writing, critical thinking, and research skills.

Symbols

Working with a Disability

Americans with Disabilities Act Information and technical assistance with The Americans With Disabilities Act. This website provides information about the rights of people with disabilities.
CareerConnect from the American Foundation for the Blind CareerConnect presents employment information, career exploration tools, and extensive job seeking guidance for students and adults with vision loss and the professionals who work with them.
CAREERS & the disABLED CAREERS & the disABLED Magazine is the nation's first and only career-guidance and recruitment magazine for people with disabilities who are at undergraduate, graduate, or professional levels. Each issue features a special Braille section.
Dsability Services from the US Government The federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide.
Institute for Community Inclusion (ICI) The mission of this organization from UMass Boston is to support the rights of adults and children with disabilities and employ those with disabilities in community settings.
Job Accommodation Network: JAN This site offers web resources and telephone/in person consultation for accommodation advice, ADA information, and general information about seeking and holding a job.
Resume and Employment Guide for People With Disabilities
U.S. Department of Labor Disability Resources The Department of Labor has several agencies that can help people with disabilities find meaningful work and launch successful careers, help employers hire people with disabilities, and help federal contractors stay within the law when hiring.
U.S. Department of Labor Office Of Disability Employment Policy Five important federal laws that protect individuals with disabilities from discrimination in employment and the job application process.

American Association of People with Disabilities The American Association of People with Disabilities(AAPD) internship programs offer postsecondary students challenging paid internships in Washington, D.C.
Entry Point! Entry Point! identifies and recruits students with apparent and non-apparent disabilities studying in science, engineering, mathematics, computer science, and some fields of business for outstanding internship and co-op opportunities.
The Workforce Recruitment Program for College Students with Disabilities WRP is a recruitment and referral program that connects federal and private sector employers nationwide with highly motivated college students and recent graduates with disabilities who are eager to prove their abilities in the workplace through summer or permanent jobs.

Viscardi Center Jobs Database of postsecondary students and recent graduates with disabilities who are seeking summer jobs and permanent employment. The database is used nationally by employers who are seeking qualified applicants with disabilities.
ABILITYJobs.com ABILITY Jobs is the first and largest employment website for job seekers with disabilities. Since 1995, it has provided a place where people with disabilities can seek employment, confident they will be evaluated solely on their skills and experience.
ACB Job Connection The American Council of the Blind provides a job bank that includes opportunities posted by employers interested in hiring workers with vision loss.
Disability Employment People with disabilities can be appointed to Federal jobs non-competitively through a process called Schedule A. Learn how to be considered for Federal jobs under the noncompetitive process.
Disability Exchange America's Job Exchange created a specialized career zone where people with disabilities can find success in the workplace with employers.
GettingHired This portal provides both career information and community for talented people with disabilities, including social networking, a job board and much more.
Leading Disability Employers NOD’s Leading Disability Employer Seal™ is a public, annual recognition designed to applaud those organizations that are leading the way in disability hiring and encourage additional companies to tap into the many benefits of hiring talent with disabilities.

American Association of People with Disabilities The American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD) is a convener, connector, and catalyst for change, increasing the political and economic power of people with disabilities.
American Association on Health and Disability AAHD works to reduce health disparities between people with disabilities and the general population, and supports full community inclusion and accessibility.
American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities AAIDD promotes progressive policies, sound research, effective practices, and universal human rights for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
Association on Higher Education and Disability AHEAD is the premiere professional association committed to full participation of persons with disabilities in postsecondary education.
AUCD: Association of University Centers on Disabilities Established in 1963 by Congress as "centers of excellence" for research in mental retardation and developmental disabilities, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers (IDDRCs) [formerly known as Mental Retardation Developmental Disabilities Research Centers (MRDDRCs)] represent the nation's first and foremost sustained effort to prevent and treat disabilities through biomedical and behavioral research.
Invisible Disabilities Association The Invisible Disabilities Association (IDA) encourages, educates and connects people and organizations touched by illness, pain and disability around the globe.
Learning Disabilities Association of America Since 1963, LDA has provided support to people with learning disabilities, their parents, teachers and other professionals with cutting edge information on learning disabilities, practical solutions, and a comprehensive network of resources.
National Center on Disability and Journalism Newsletter
National Organization on Disability The National Organization on Disability focuses on increasing employment opportunities for the 80-percent of working-age Americans with disabilities who are not employed.

Resources & Support in Boston

MAB Adult Disability Services MAB provides supports in a range of residential and vocational settings in the Greater Boston area for adults with developmental disabilities, brain injuries, and secondary disorders such as blindness, deafness, behavioral challenges, cerebral palsy, and issues related to aging.
Massachusetts Disability Resources and Advocacy Organizations Links to government agencies and disability rights organizations in the Commonwealth.
Massachusetts Disability Services Includes resources and support in Boston and beyond.
Massachusetts Office on Disability The Massachusetts Office on Disability works to ensure the full and equal participation of all people with disabilities in all aspects of life by working to advance legal rights, maximum opportunities, supportive services, accommodations and accessibility in a manner that fosters dignity and self determination. It is the state advocacy agency that serves people with disabilities of all ages.
Mayor's Commission for Persons with Disabilities The Commission facilitates full and equal participation in all aspects of life by persons with disabilities in the City of Boston. They strive to reduce architectural, procedural, attitudinal, and communication barriers that affect persons with disabilities.