LibGuides: International Student Career Resources: Home

Work in the U.S.

Career Services for International Students From the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University-Bloomington, this site includes a thorough overview of the strengths that international students will need to demonstrate in order to stand out from your peers.
International Student's Job Search: Tips & Terms Created by Purdue University for international students who would like to work in the United States, this site includes an overview of the words you will need to know in order to apply for and land jobs in the United States as well as sample resumes.
InternationalStudent.com Resources and advice for all aspects of International Student life in the US as well as study and living abroad resources.
International Student Career Resources From the University of Virginia, a guide for international students looking for work in the US.

Embassy.org Foreign embassies and resources online with a directory of embassies in the Washington, DC area.
Foreign Labor Certification- H-1B Program This Department of Labor page provides information on H-1B visa applications and career opportunities.
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Information source for current laws pertaining to international students in the U.S.

Career Forum -- For Japanese/English Speakers CFN job listings consist of current job openings available for Japanese-English bilinguals from Japan, America, Europe and all around the world.
IBM International Student Hiring IBM provides job opportunities for international students in a wide array of geographic regions and specialty areas, including Consulting, Software Development, Information Technology, Sales, Finance and much more.
LatPro Professional network for Latinos; includes sites for job seekers and recruiters.

CulturalVistas Offers internship and work programs that place international participants in a wide variety of career fields in the United States, using the J-1 Exchange Visitor visa.
InterExchange Offers the International Practical Training Program, which enable international students and recent graduates an opportunity to participate in a period of practical training in their field with a company in the U.S. for up to 18 months.
Legal Issues: International Students And Unpaid Internships What are the legal issues surrounding international students and unpaid internships? Read this article from the National Association of Colleges and Employers to find out.
Student Job Search: InternationalStudent.com If you are in need of finding an internship, whether for a school requirement or simply to gain experience, this site provides access to the latest internship listings available.

Basics of American Culture This helpful guide from Western Illinois University explains some common customs in the United States, from friendship and dating to communicating.
Fast Facts: United States Census Bureau Fast Facts provides a portrait of the United States by decade, both statistically and culturally.
Learn About the United States of America U.S. Government site that includes extensive links to information about the history, culture, art and life in the United States.
USA - Language, Culture, Customs and Etiquette From the UK-based Kwintessential, a useful overview of American culture and customs for visitors.
U.S. Culture From the International Students and Scholars Office at the University of California-San Francisco, a useful guide for getting to know America and Americans.

List of Graduate Scholarships These do not require proof of residency or citizenship
List of Undergraduate Scholarships These do not require proof of residency or citizenship
Most difficult problems for Chinese students in American Universities Written by a Chinese student at Ohio State University, this essay includes information that can help all international students.
The Tutoring Center Includes an overview of services, contact information, and much more.
U.S. Higher Education: A "Local" Introduction From the Purdue Online Writing Lab, this page provides an introduction to some of the basics of working, networking, and living at US colleges and universities.
U.S. Higher Education Glossary U.S. News has compiled a glossary of important terms specifically for international students and parents.

Duolingo Duolingo is a free online language learning platform that allows language learners from a wide array of language backgrounds to learn how to speak English (along with many other languages).
Purdue OWL: ESL Student Resources These OWL resources will help ESL students in second language writing.

How to open a bank account in the U.S. Having a U.S bank account is a great way to manage your finances while being away from home.
How to Open Up a Bank Account in the U.S. As an international student studying in the United States, having a US bank account will make managing your finances significantly easier.
U.S. Bank Accounts for International Students Any international student who expects to be in America for more than a few months should open a US bank account. Here’s what you need to know before you open a bank account.

AT&T
Cell Coverage Finder Find out which cell service provider works best in your location.
Sprint
T-Mobile
Verizon Wireless

Simmons University: Health Insurance While at School Provides detailed answers about health insurance requirements while at Simmons University, including international student requirements.
Simmons University Health Center Find information about the Health Center hours of operation, services, how to receive after hours care, and information on immunizations and insurance.
Health Insurance & Health Care for International Students and Scholars This guide includes an overview of the U.S. Health Care System, discusses insurance requirements for the F and J immigrant visa categories, describes health insurance options, and much more.
International Student Health Insurance Requirement When Studying in Massachusetts Massachusetts requires full-time students to have health insurance as a way to guarantee a level of minimum health benefits to a demographic which otherwise is often unable to afford medical treatment through the American system.
4 Surprises for International Students About Health Care International students used to socialized health care systems may be surprised by the cost of U.S. medical treatment.
eduPASS | Living in the USA | Health Care The United States does not provide socialized medicine, and it is important to have health insurance, even if the school does not require it.
Health Care | Study in the USA Information about the Health Care system in the United States.