American Indian Film GalleryThe AIFG, hosted by the University of Arizona, contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest.
Annenberg LearnerAccess to educational video programs developed with grant money as telecourses, including series on algebra, art, chemistry, economics, film, history, poetry, and foreign languages, among others. Not all series listed on the site are available for streaming.
AP ArchiveThe Associated Press's collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1893.
British MovietoneA major newsreel archive spanning the period 1895 to 1986.
British PathéSince the invention of the moving image in the 1890s, British Pathé began recording every aspect of global culture and news, for the cinema. All 85,000 newsreels are now searchable and viewable on YouTube. This equates to 3,500 hours of filmed history.
CSPAN Video LibraryThis resource includes almost every program that has aired on C-SPAN, including more than 170,000 hours of content, going back to 1987.
Digital Commonwealth: Film/VideoDigital Commonwealth is a non-profit collaborative organization that provides online access to cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.
Documentary HeavenBrowse films by category options such as activist, celebrity, conspiracy, mystery, war, technology, and more.
Filmakers Library OnlineFilmakers Library is a well-known and highly respected distributor of issues-based documentaries. The titles in theFilmakers Library Online: Second Edition collection cross nearly all academic disciplines and educate students and researchers on critical and thought-provoking issues, figures, and cultures.
FolkstreamsA national preserve of documentary films about American roots cultures.
Internet Archive: Moving ImagesFrom the Internet Archive, this library of free movies, films, and videos library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users, which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
National Film Board of CanadaEnjoy documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions on the web, on your personalized home page, or on your iPhone. Don't forget to check out our trailers, playlists and upcoming online releases. Free for personal use.
Open CultureOpen Culture has links to over 400 films available for streaming online. It links the user to sites like YouTube for viewing feature films.
PBS Video: Public SitePBS Video offers a wide variety of its films, documentaries and TV shows for streaming online.
Simmons University Library YouTubeInstructional videos made by Simmons Librarians as well as historical videos from the University Archives.
TED: Technology, Entertainment, DesignMore than 500 talks and performances from TED and partners. Videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted. Organized under broad subject categories: Technology, Entertainment, Design, Business, Science, and Global Issues.
The Travel Film ArchiveThe Travel Film Archive is a collection of travelogues and educational and industrial films--many of them in color--that show the world the way it was between 1900 and 1970.
VimeoAn ad-free platform that hosts videos that can be viewed for free.
Free Streaming Videos Search
The following sites allow you to search for streaming videos across multiple platforms online. The platforms may include both paid and free sites.
