Skip to main content

Citation Managers: Endnote Basic

A guide to some popular citation managers for collecting, organizing, and citing references

What is Endnote Basic?

EndNote is a software program that works with Microsoft Word to automatically format in-text citations and end-of-paper reference lists with your chosen style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.). The "Basic" edition is a limited, online-based version that is free to use.

The Basics

Endnote Basic is an online version of the Endnote software that allows you to save and organize your references as well as create citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word. You can sign up for a free Endnote Basic account and access your references online, or you can try the desktop version free for 30 days.

There are several ways to add references to your Endnote account, but the two main ways are importing references from databases and adding references manually.

When you find a reference in a database, such as the Simmons Library Search, you can add its information to Endnote directly from the database record:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you've exported to Endnote, the reference will appear in your My References list under "Unfiled." 

  

 

To add a reference manually, go to the Collect menu and select "New Reference." In the New Reference form, you can choose a "Reference Type" from the drop down menu and enter information about the resource in the appropriate fields. Remember to save as you go!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you're finished, the reference will appear under "Unfiled" or under whatever group you assign it to.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTE: Chrome and Firefox users can also add Endnote extensions to their browsers to automatically capture New Reference information directly from a webpage.

You have two options for creating a bibliography from your Endnote references:

1. You can use the Cite As You Write toolbar for Microsoft Word to insert citations and generate a bibliography in the citation style of your choice.

 

 

 

 

2. You can generate a bibliography from your Endnote references online. Under the Format menu, select "Bibliography," choose the list of references you want to use in the bibliography, choose your preferred citation style, and select a file format for the bibliography (Rich Text Format is usually a good choice). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can save the bibliography as a separate file, email it, or preview it in a pop-up window, where you can copy & paste it into another document (Note: make sure your browser pop-up blocker is turned off).

Loading