HON 301: Disability & Society: Private Lives, Public Debates: Find Information
The best of the best resources for your course!
Disability Studies Journals
American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental DisabilitiesPublished by the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities. It is a scientific, scholarly, and archival multidisciplinary journal for reporting original contributions of the highest quality to knowledge of intellectual disabilities, its causes, treatment, and prevention.
Disability & SocietyAn international journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices. It appears against a background of change in the ways in which disability is viewed and responded to.
Disabilities Studies QuarterlyIt is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
Disability.govThe federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide.
National Council on DisabilityA small, independent federal agency charged with advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities.
U.S. Department of JusticeWebsite with information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Annual Disability CompendiumThe Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Disability Statistics and Demographics (StatsRRTC) facilitates evidence-based decision making in many different service and policy arenas by compiling large quantities of survey data and administrative records related to people with disabilities.
Disability History MuseumA searchable library, education curricula, and museum exhibits designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.
Museum of disABILITY History-A website dedicated to advancing the understanding, acceptance and independence of people with disabilities.
H-DisabilityA scholarly discussion group that explores the multitude of historical issues surrounding the experience and phenomenon of 'disability.
AUCD: Association of University Centers on DisabilitiesEstablished in 1963 by Congress as "centers of excellence" for research in mental retardation and developmental disabilities, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers (IDDRCs) [formerly known as Mental Retardation Developmental Disabilities Research Centers (MRDDRCs)] represent the nation's first and foremost sustained effort to prevent and treat disabilities through biomedical and behavioral research.
NBER Disability Research CenterThe goal of the Center is to inform discussions on disability policy reform by providing a more comprehensive understanding of the health and economic implications of disability and disability policy.
Disability Research CenterIt is the intent of the Disability Research and Dissemination Center to expand NCBDDD’s capacity to conduct research that prevents birth defects and promotes the health and well being of people with disabilities.
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic subjects, making it an ideal starting point for research in any field.
Academic Search Ultimate is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic disciplines. The collection includes both peer-reviewed and general interest publications, with content dating back to 1865. It offers extensive full-text access to academic literature across the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more. This database serves as an excellent starting point for research projects in any subject area.
SocINDEX with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive sociology research database, covering all sub-disciplines and related areas.
SocINDEX with Full Text provides extensive coverage of sociology and related social sciences literature. The database includes journals, books, and conference papers with some content dating to 1908. Coverage includes author profiles and specialized sociology indexing. This resource is essential for social science research and education.
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowOne of the leading business research databases, providing comprehensive coverage of management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Business Source Premier offers full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications, with coverage dating back to 1922. The database includes key publications like Harvard Business Review and premium business content. Content emphasizes peer-reviewed research while including practical business publications. This resource supports both academic research and business practice.
LGBTQ+ SourceThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering LGBTQ+ studies, gender identity, and sexuality research.
LGBTQ+ Source provides extensive coverage of LGBTQ+ history, culture, and related social movements. Content includes full text from over 140 journals and 160 books. The database features a specialized thesaurus for LGBTQ+ research. This resource supports research in gender studies, sexuality studies, and related social sciences.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowA streaming video platform offering a curated collection of educational films and documentaries.
Kanopy provides access to thousands of films including documentaries, educational content, and classic cinema. The collection includes content from the Criterion Collection and leading educational producers. Videos support curriculum needs across academic disciplines. This platform serves both classroom instruction and independent learning.
Presently, disability justice and emotional/care work are buzzwords on many people's lips, and the disabled and sick are discovering new ways to build power within themselves and each other; at the same time, those powers remain at risk in this fragile political climate in which we find ourselves. Powerful and passionate, Care Work is a crucial and necessary call to arms.
Zine discusses the author's father who had Huntington's Disease and the journey. Also discussed is the disease itself, the causes, the symptoms, and possible treatments.
Zine that traces her experiences as a deaf person in a hearing world. Deafula is an informative resource for hearing allies, while still being relatable for anyone who has ever felt like an outcast. Issue 4 deals with employment and how her hearing loss relates to her ability to work.
A per-zine about making sense of life in remission, getting comfortable with total uncertainty, trying to do as much as possible and remembering every little thing, ever. (a year pasted down on paper through caramel burns, a spider-man costume, staring at the moon, time spent thinking about her and him and her and her, and keeping calm by all means.)
This perzine describes the zinester's experiences with preparing for surgery and managing chronic pain in their hand especially advocating for herself in the health care industry.
Care Work by 
Cure Huntington's disease by 
Damaged Mentality, #2.5 by 
Deafula #4: The Employment Issue
No Better Than Apples, Issue Ten by 
Tributaries #6: An Interesting Case by 