LibGuides: The London Center's Guide to the Housing Crisis and Housing Insecurity : Get Involved

Ways to Get Involved

Y2Y Network
Using student-led programming Y2Y connects service providers, youth experiencing homelessness, and student volunteers to create pathways out of houselessness.
More than Words Books
A bookstore that empowers system-involved youth to build job and business skills. Volunteers build connections and work with youth during their business shifts and can serve as goal support coaches to help youth achieve their goals.
Boston Healthcare for the Homeless
An organization that provides healthcare to individuals experiencing homelessness. Volunteers serve in a variety of important non-clinical roles.
The Home for Little Wanderers
Through their programs, The Home for Little Wanderers provides community-based resources to children and families. Various volunteer opportunities are available including direct care, a mentorship program, and administrative support.
Women's Lunch Place
The Women's Lunch Place provides meals, assistance, and advocacy for women experiencing homelessness. They are primarily looking for weekday volunteers to help with various aspects of the operation.

Massachusetts Association for Community Action
This service and advocacy organization provides ways individuals can get involved with community action and political advocacy.
Massachusetts Immigrant & Refugee Advocacy Coalition
MIRA works on various advocacy campaigns to promote the rights of immigrants and refugees. Volunteers can assist with different aspects of the work including, citizenship services, voter registration, and communications.
Housing Families
Housing Families is a Greater Boston-based non-profit that works with a holistic approach to uplift unhoused individuals and families. They have various volunteer opportunities that can be tailored to individual interests, including a tutoring program, advisory committees, and resource programs.
Massachusetts Coalition for the Homeless
A coalition with the mission to eradicate homelessness in Massachusetts, The Massachusetts Coalition for the Homeless has various ways individuals can get involved.
Massachusetts Housing and Shelter Alliance
MHSA is an organization dedicated to ending homelessness, they have various ways to get involved including advocacy opportunities and partner agencies.

National Coalition for the Homeless Regional Directory
This regional directory from the National Coalition for the Homeless points to organizations working to end homelessness and national volunteer opportunities.
National Alliance to End Homelessness
As a nonpartisan advocacy group, the National Alliance to End Homelessness includes various ways to take action to help end and prevent homelessness in the United States.
National Low Income Housing Coalition
This national organization is dedicated to creating equitable public policy to ensure affordable housing. Their website lists ways people can get involved and take action.
Right to the City
Right to the City is a housing justice grassroots organization dedicated to building sustainable communities. Their website includes various campaigns and ways individuals can take action.
Housing Not Handcuffs
The National Homeless Law Center's campaign to end the criminalization of homelessness.
Stand Up for Kids
As a volunteer-run organization, Stand Up for Kids, is dedicated to ending the cycle of youth homelessness. Various volunteer positions are available including direct service and behind-the-scenes help.

At the London Center

Continuity within Chaos Lecture by Dr. James O'Connell

Dr. James O'Connell founder and president of Boston Healthcare for the Homeless discusses caring for unhoused people and the importance of continuity of care for vulnerable populations.

Boston Housing Panel

Professor of Social Work Gary Bailey moderates a panel discussion on the housing crisis in Boston with Luc Schuster the Executive Director of Boston Indicators, Kelly Turley (MSW/MA), Associate Director of Massachusetts Coalition for the Homeless, Connor Schoen, the Co-Founder and Executive Director of Breaktime, Jo-Anna Rorie, CNM, PhD midwife at Boston Medical Center and Curbside Care for Moms and Babies mobile unit.