LibGuides: SOCI 241: Health, Illness & Society: Home

KEY DATABASES

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive sociology research database, covering all sub-disciplines and related areas.
SocINDEX with Full Text provides extensive coverage of sociology and related social sciences literature. The database includes journals, books, and conference papers with some content dating to 1908. Coverage includes author profiles and specialized sociology indexing. This resource is essential for social science research and education.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window This full-text database contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for the most important and historically significant world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
LGBTQ+ Source provides extensive coverage of LGBTQ+ history, culture, and related social movements. Content includes full text from over 140 journals and 160 books. The database features a specialized thesaurus for LGBTQ+ research. This resource supports research in gender studies, sexuality studies, and related social sciences.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window The premier database for psychological research, covering international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.
PsycINFO provides comprehensive access to psychological literature from over 1,900 journals across 45 countries. The database covers academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related fields. Content includes sophisticated indexing by psychological concepts and methodology. This resource is essential for in-depth research in psychology and behavioral sciences.
Medline This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's authoritative database for biomedical and health sciences literature.
Medline indexes approximately 5,000 of the world's leading biomedical journals. Coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, and healthcare systems. Content emphasizes peer-reviewed research and clinical studies. This database is fundamental for health sciences research and evidence-based practice.
PubMed This link opens in a new window The premier database for biomedical literature, providing comprehensive access to life sciences research.
PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other sources. Content includes links to full-text articles through various platforms. The database is updated daily with new research. This resource is essential for medical research, healthcare practice, and life sciences study.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, essential for healthcare education and practice.
CINAHL Complete provides full text access to hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, plus books and evidence-based care sheets. The database covers over 5,000 journals with extensive indexing. Content includes clinical innovations, patient care protocols, and healthcare management. This resource is crucial for nursing education, research, and clinical practice.

Foundation Center This website provides resources and information on nonprofit management, fundraising, grants and grantmakers.

HistoryMakers This link opens in a new window The largest African American video oral history collection, preserving and sharing the life stories of thousands of African Americans.
HistoryMakers contains over 9,000 hours of first-person video interviews with African Americans from various walks of life. Content includes interviews conducted across the United States and internationally. The collection preserves personal narratives and historical perspectives. This resource is invaluable for African American studies, oral history, and social history research.

Health News Review The mission of HealthNewsReview.org is to improve the public dialogue about health care by helping consumers critically analyze claims about health care interventions and by promoting the principles of shared decision-making reinforced by accurate, balanced and complete information about the tradeoffs involved in health care decisions.
Industry Documents Library Increasingly, connections are being made between tactics taken by the tobacco industry and other corporations that influence public health, particularly on the issues of food, climate change and pharmaceuticals. The Industry Documents Library is a portal to aid investigation about cross-industry corporate practices and this portal brings together the following archives: the Truth Tobacco Industry Documents, Drug Industry Documents and Chemical Industry Documents.

OTHER RESEARCH GUIDES

Sociology
by Linda Schuller Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 40 views this year
Activism 101
by Hannah Gershone Last Updated Jun 18, 2024 424 views this year
Evaluating Sources
by Lena Kilburn Last Updated Mar 5, 2025 582 views this year

DATA & STATISTICS

Asian American Health
Asian American Health - MedlinePlus
Hispanic American Health - MedlinePlus
Native American Health - MedlinePlus
Indian Health Services Division of Program Statistics The Division of Program Statistics offers access to IHS publications such as the “Regional Differences in Indian Health” and “Trends in Indian Health” series, as well as documents on special health topics. Also check the “IHS Area Publications” and “Statistical Databases” links.
CDC Health Disparities & Inequalities Report (CHDIR) The CDC Health Disparities and Inequalities Report - United States, 2013, published in CDC’s Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR), is the second consolidated assessment that highlights health disparities and inequalities across a wide range of diseases, behavioral risk factors, environmental exposures, social determinants, and health-care access by sex, race and ethnicity, income, education, disability status and other social characteristics. It provides new data for 19 of the topics published in 2011 and presents 10 new topics.
Ethnomed EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups.
Institute of Medicine: Unequal Treatment: Confronting Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Care This is a March 2002 report in which a panel of experts documents inequality in health care and explores how persons of color experience the health care environment. The book examines how disparities in treatment may arise in health care systems and looks at aspects of the clinical encounter that may contribute to such disparities. Published by the National Academies Press, you may read this report online.
Kaiser Family Foundation: Minority Health
Minority Data Research Center “MDRC is a membership-funded archive whose purpose is to provide data resources for the comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. We offer streamlined access to existing ICPSR data and to newly acquired studies that are relevant to the study of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race in the United States.”
NAMI - Diverse Communities
National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
Health, United States with a special report on racial and ethnic health disparities.

Liaison Librarian

Linda Schuller

Email Me

Contact:

E-111

617.521.2767

Subjects: Africana Studies, Behavior Analysis, Business, Communications, East Asian Studies, Economics, Education, French, Health Care Administration, Health Informatics, History, International Relations, Library & Information Science, Political Science, Psychology, Spanish